SMAT 2021: Dinesh Kartik, Vijay Shankar, and Murli Vijay among the probables for Tamil Nadu

Dinesh Karthik to lead Tamil Nadu in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

SMAT 2021: Dinesh Kartik, Vijay Shankar, and Murli Vijay among the probable for Tamil Nadu.

SMAT 2021 Tamil Nadu: As soon as the BCCI announced dates for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21, the state associations have started releasing the strong probable for the tournament. Tamil Nadu releasing its probables included Dinesh Kartik, Vijay Shankar, and Murli Vijay.

In the 26 men strong squad, Tamil Nadu omitted spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar, and speedster T. Natarajan who are on the tour of Australia.

K. B Arun Karthick is also included in the side after a long gap of seven years. Medium-pacer Sandeep Warrier is also named in the list of 26 men probables. Warier had moved to Kerala before the season.

Aswin Crist who suffered an injury in February 2018 is made his comeback and got his name in the strong probable.

The squad selected by the state selection committee TNCA has also ensured enough practice ahead of the season. All the picked players will play three practice games on December 19, 20, and 21 at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

The selector’s chairman S Vasudevan said players have been picked with a good mixture altogether.

We have picked players on the basis of last year’s performance. It is a mix of both youth and experience,” Vasudevan told PTI.

The final squad will be selected on December 21 and are waiting for BCCI notice on the actual size of the squad.

Tamil Nadu probables: 

Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, B Aparajith, B Indrajith, Vijay Shankar, M Shahrukh Khan, C Hari Nishaanth, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, K B Arun Karthik, Akshay V Srinivasan, N Jagadeesan, M Abhinav, Aswin Crist, M Mohammed, G Periyasamy, Sandeep Warrier, S Harish Kumar, K Vignesh, R Silambarasan, J Kousik, R Sonu Yadav, M Ashwin, R Sai Kishore, M Siddharth, L Sathiyannaarayanan and M E Yazh Arun Mozhi.

ALSO READ: Rajeev Shukla all set to become the BCCI next Vice-President
Australia vs India: Australian Skipper Tim Paine hints at Steve Smith’s inclusion despite “Stiff Back”