ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Shikhar Dhawan needs to cement his slot for T20 World Cup: VVS Laxman

Shikhar Dhawan to lead Delhi in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021: Team India’s limited over opener Shikhar Dhawan is all set to lead Delhi in the most competitive Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21. Speedster Ishant Sharma is likely to make his return with the shortest format. Sharma will join the Delhi squad directly after his rehab at National Cricket Acadamy (NCA) Bangalore.

Delhi District Cricket Association (DDCA) announced a 20 men squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on Monday afternoon. The tournament will begin on 10th January and the senior pacer will make his return to competitive cricket after missing out on Australia’s test leg.

Shikhar Dhawan last featured in international cricket last month against Australia where he scored 201 runs including two half-centuries.

In the Senior Selection Committee meeting held on Sunday attended by Ashu Dani (Chairman), Mohan Chaturvedi (Selector), Chetnya Nanda (Selector), Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Rajkumar Sharma (Coach) and Atul Wassan (Member CAC-DDCA), following players have been selected to represent Delhi in the Syed Mushtaq All Trophy T20 Tournament for the Domestic Season 2020-21,” DDCA stated in a document.

DDCA has asked all the selected players to report to the newly appointed head coach Rajkumar Sharma and Gursharan Singh at Delhi’s home ground. Ahmedabad’s Motera Stadium is scheduled to host all the knockout matches of the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Along with skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Ishant Sharma, Nitish Rana and Pawan Negi have also included in the 20-member squad.

All the states have been ordered by the BCCI to assemble at their respective venues by January 2.

Delhi Squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy:

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ishant Sharma, Nitish Rana, Himmat Singh, Kshitiz Sharma, Jonty Sidhu, Hiten Dalal, Lalit Yadav, Shivank Vashisth, Manjot Kalra, Siddhant Sharma, Anuj Rawat (wk), Pradeep Sangwan, Simranjeet Singh, Pawan Negi, Ayush Badoni, Vaibhav Kandpal, Lakshay Thareja (wk), Pawan Suyal, Karan Dagar.

ALSO READ: Shoaib Akhtar Slammed ICC for not including a single Pakistani in the ICC T20I Team of the Decade
Virat Kohli wins ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade Award while MS Dhoni wins Spirit of the Cricket Award