SA20 2024: Updated Points Table Following Paarl Royals Victory Over Pretoria Capitals

SA20 2024: Some brilliant unbeaten fighting knocks by the duo of Paarl Royals Skipper David Miller (75 runs in 42 balls) and middle-order batsman Mitchell Van Buuren (72 runs in 40 balls), along with the duo’s unbeaten partnership of 141 runs for the 4th wicket, led the Royals to their second consecutive victory in the 2nd season of the SA20 as the Paarl-based side successfully managed to defeat the Pretoria Capitals by 10 runs at Centurion’s Supersport Park. The Paarl Royals are currently in second place in the SA 2024 overall standings with two wins in two games.

The Paarl-based team didn’t have a good start as opener Jason Roy (5 runs) and top-order batter Wihan Lube (12 runs) were sent back to the pavilion inside the first 6 overs.  Wicket-keeper Batsman Jos Butter wasn’t able to convert his good start into a huge score and got dismissed by fellow countrymen Adil Rashid after managing to score 39 runs in 23 balls.

Royals Skipper David Miller and Mitchell Van Buuren played some brilliant knocks, and their knocks took the team from Paarl to an outstanding score of 210 runs. Killer Miller’s unbeaten knock of 75 runs consisted of eight fours and three sixes, while Van Buuren smashed seven fours and three maximums in his unbeaten knock of 72 runs.

Chasing a big total of 211 runs, the team from Pretoria didn’t have a good start, as opener Phil Salt (0 runs) and top-order batsman Theunis de Bruyn (4 runs) were sent back to the dugout by Paarl Royals seamer Lungi Ngidi. Fighting knocks from Will Jacks (58 runs in 34 balls) and Rilee Rossouw (82 runs in 45 balls) and a cameo of 20 runs from nine balls by Capitals skipper Jimmy Neesham kept their team in the chase, but it wasn’t enough as no other batter was able to provide any kind of support to the trio of Neesham, Jacks, and Rossow, and the team from Pretoria were eventually bundled out for 200 runs in 20 overs. Lungi Ngidi starred with the ball for the Royals with his four-wicket haul. Obed McCoy, Andile Phehlukwayo, and Bjorn Fortuin took one wicket each.

SA20 2024 Updated Points Table

PosTeam NameMatchesWLNo ResultPointsNRR
1Durban’s Super Giants22008+1.260
2MI Cape Town21105+2.384
3Paarl Royals11004+1.350
4Sunrisers Eastern Cape20112-1.750
5Joburg Super Kings20112-4.900
6Pretoria Capitals10100-1.350

The Paarl Royals have jumped to second place with eight points riding on the back of their second consecutive victory in two games. The winning team gets 4 points per win in the second season of the SA20.

The number one position in the overall standings is occupied by the DuSuperGiants,iants with eight points in two matches. MI Cape Town are at number three with five points from two matches, and the Cape Town-based team earned a bonus point from their comfortable victory against the Joburg Super Kings.

Defending Champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape are in fourth place in the overall standings with two points in two matches. The opening game of this season of SA 20 between the Joburg Super Kings and the Sunrisers Eastern Cape was washed out due to rain, thereby giving both teams two points each.

The fifth place in the points table is occupied by the Super Kings with two points in two matches, while the Pretoria Capitals are in the last position with 0 points in their two matches.

Read: Tata IPL 2024 to start on THIS DATE, BCCI working closely with government for Indian Premier League 2024

For More, Visit the official site of: South Africa’s premier T20 cricket league