Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead Maharashtra on Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21

Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead Maharashtra on Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21.

Chennai Super Kings batsman and young opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad is all set to lead his home side Maharashtra in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21, the state association confirmed the news on Saturday.

The Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) had announced a strong 20 member squad for the domestic ODI tournament on the Twitter handle.

The young opener, stole the limelight during the last IPL season when he smashed back to back half-centuries at the later end of the tournament for Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

To support Gaikwad, Kedar Jadhav, Ankeet Bawane, Naushad Shaikh and Rahul Tripathi have also been named in the squad. The 20 members squad also comprises two wicketkeepers in Vishant More and Nikhil Naik.

The bowling contingent will be led by slow left-arm orthodox spinners Satyajeet Bachhav, Jagdish Zope, the pacers include Ashay Palkar, Monoj Ingle, Pradeep Dadhe and Mukesh Choudhary.

Maharashtra is placed in Elite Group D along with Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and Pondicherry and all the games of the Elite Group D will be held in Jaipur.

Maharashtra will play its opener on 21st February while the tournament will begin on 20th February.

The knockout games will begin on March 07 while the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played on 14th march Sunday.

Maharashtra Squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21: 

Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rahul Tripathi, Ankeet Bawane, Naushad Shaikh, Kedar Jadhav, Azim Kazi, Nikhil Naik (WK), Vishant More (WK), Satyajeet Bachhav, Ashay Palkar, Taranjeet Singh Dhillon, Shamshuzma Kazi, Pradeep Dadhe, Mukesh Choudhary, Manoj Ingle, Rajyavardhan Hangargekar, Jagdish Zope, Yash Nahar, Yash Kshirsagar, Ranjeet Nikam. Head coach: Santosh Jedhe.

ALSO READ: Six Indian cricketers failed to qualify for 2 KM run fitness test at NCA
India vs England: Opting out of IPL was a difficult call: Joe Root