Rohit Sharma.
Image subjected to copyright.

The Indian Cricket Team for the Sri Lanka series has been announced. Both the T20I team and the test team have been announced. Rohit Sharma is now officially India’s all-format captain. This is a matter of pride for the individual. Previously names such as KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant were discussed as contenders. Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant and Virat Kohli have been rested for the T20Is that will begin from Thursday in Lucknow. Here is an in-depth look: 

Indian Cricket Team for SL Test Series, Rohit Sharma named Captain: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Priyank Panchal, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, KS Bharath, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin (subject to fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar  

The major development is that Rohit Sharma has been given full-time captaincy of the test team. This makes Rohit, the 3rd all-format captain of the Indian Cricket Team after MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli. India faced a 2-1 loss at the hands of a new South African team in the recently concluded Test Series. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane have been dropped from the test team. After giving a long rope to the experienced duo, these two have finally been sacked. Ishant Sharma has also missed out on the squad. As expected, the Indian team has started to look beyond Wriddhiman Saha. 

Other developments include the comeback of Ravindra Jadeja after completing his rehabilitation at NCA, Bangalore. Saurabh Kumar has been rewarded for exceptional performance in the 2018/2019 Ranji Season. His name has appeared for the first time on the national team. Jasprit Bumrah has been named deputy of the Test squad. 

Indian Cricket Team for SL T20I Series Announced. Virat, Pant rested: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan. 

The T20I squad doesn’t see many changes. Except, Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant being given some rest. Ravindra Jadeja makes a comeback in the white-ball circuit too. He has successfully completed his rehab at NCA. Rohit Sharma is leading the team with Jasprit Bumrah as his deputy. KL Rahul and Washington Sundar have missed out due to injuries sustained in the ODI series against West Indies. 

For more details go to the official website of BCCI.