RCB captain IPL 2022. IPL teams and their captain in IPL 2022 Complete List

RCB captain IPL 2022. IPL teams and their captain in IPL 2022 Complete List: With just a few weeks left for the start of season fifteen of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is yet to unveil their captain for the tournament. The franchise has put fans and supporters in disarray due to their delay in the announcement.

However, some of the close sources who are in the know of the development have claimed veteran South African batter, Faf du Plessis to be the front-runner for the position.

Du Plessis, who was part of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) before the IPL 2022, was purchased by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for INR 7 Crores during the auction. The Protea batsman has helped the ‘Yellow Brigade’ to win two IPL titles in the past. 

The opening batter has aggregated 2932 runs at an impressive strike rate of 132 in 92 matches.

To prove his credibility as the captain, Faf du Plessis has led South Africa in 112 games across formats until 2020. With such a rich captaincy experience, du Plessis automatically becomes a strong candidate to take up the leadership role of the RCB.

Besides Faf du Plessis, Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik are two other probable names for the captaincy duties. 

However, Glenn Maxwell will miss the first one and half weeks of the IPL due to Australia’s policy of not allowing their players to feature in any cricket league when their national side is playing bilateral matches. So, he subsequently gets out of the contest.

Hence, the competition remains between Faf du Plessis and Dinesh Karthik. The latter batter has captained Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) previously.

ALSO READ: BCCI to allow 25% fans in the stadium for IPL 2022 till April 15

“We will announce that name real soon. Discussions are on as we have good options with us,” an RCB source close to the development said.

Notably, then skipper Virat Kohli stepped down from the RCB captaincy to manage his workload and focus on his batting. The cricketer has seen a slump in his performance of late, however, Kohli wants to return back to his best with no captaincy responsibility on his shoulder.

Down below is the list of all IPL teams and their captains in the Tata IPL 2022.

IPL teams and their captains in the IPL 2022:

IPL franchiseCaptain
Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
Delhi CapitalsRishabh Pant
Sunrisers HyderabadKane Williamson
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas Iyer
Lucknow SuperGiantsKL Rahul
Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
Punjab KingsMayank Agarwal
Royal Challengers Bangalore Faf du Plessis (most probable)

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Complete Rules for Cricketers and Support Staff