Ind vs Aus: Steve Smith to lead Australia in ODI series, Cummins stays home! | IND vs AUS ODI Series 2023
Ind vs Aus: Steve Smith to lead Australia in ODI series, Cummins stays home!

Pat Cummins returns home ahead of 3rd test due to a family health issue: Following his team’s six-wicket humiliation in the second Test in Delhi, Australia captain Pat Cummins has returned home from the tour of India due to a major family health issue. While Cummins will spend a few days back in Sydney, he is expected to be back in India for the third Test’s preparations in Indore.

With India wrapping up the second Test in the first three days, both teams have a nine-day break before the start of the third Test in the high-profile Border-Gavaskar Trophy in Indore. Rohit and company have a commanding 2-0 lead in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after two wins in two games. The hosts will now be able to claim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the fourth time in a row thanks to India’s historic victory over Australia in the second Test at Delhi.

Although Cummins was the only quick in Australia’s XI in Delhi, India handily chased down Australia’s target of 115 to take the Test in three days. Cummins did not bowl in the fourth innings of the match.

Cummins isn’t anticipated to miss a Test, but vice-captain Steven Smith would take the helm if needed. Since the fast bowler took the Test captaincy in late 2021, Smith has led the team on two occasions when Cummins was not there.


Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood seeking to be fit for the third Test in Indore with Scott Boland and Lance Morris still in the squad, Australia is likely to have fast bowling cover if required. After missing the first two Tests in India due to a fractured finger, all-rounder Cameron Green is also anticipated to be available.

Australia Squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw.

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

READ: Points table: Women’s T20 World Cup Updated Points Table (20 February 2023)

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.