Pakistan announce their squad for the T20I series against England and Ireland

The selection committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday announced the Shaheens squad for the upcoming series against England and Ireland.

Seam bowlers Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf and spin bowling all rounder Salman Agha have made their comebacks in the squad.

Fast bowler Zaman Khan and leg spinner Usama Mir, who participated in the five match T20i series against New Zealand have not been included for the Ireland and England series.

An 18 member squad has been announced but it will be reduced to a 15 player lineup for the 2024 T20 World Cup, which is set to start from 1st June, after the conclusion of Pakistan’s series against the Three Lions.

Pakistan’s Squad for the England and Ireland T20i series:

pak vs nz live score 600 1713700354
Pakistan announce their squad for the T20I series against England and Ireland 2

Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam (Captain), Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan (WK), Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Imad Wasim, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Irfan Khan Niazi, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Saim Ayub, Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Khan.

The Pakistan Cricket Board also provided the injury updates regarding Haris Rauf, Irfan Khan Niazi and Mohammad Rizwan.

“Wicketkeeper batsman Azam Khan and fast bowler Haris Rauf missed the New Zealand series due to injuries while Irfan Khan Niazi and Mohammad Rizwan missed the last two games against the Kiwis due to niggles,” the Pakistan Cricket Board said in a press release.

“All of them underwent fitness tests on a regular basis in the National Cricket Academy on the Tuesday of this week and they showed positive signs of improvement. This improvement has boosted the confidence of our Medical team in terms of their availability for selection for the 2024 T20 World Cup,” the PCB added.

The Babar Azam led team is set to leave for Ireland’s Dublin on 7th May after the conclusion of their training camp in the City of Lahore between 4th-6th May.

READ: Champions Trophy 2025 to have India vs Pakistan match in Lahore


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here