New Zealand announced 13 men Squad for T20I and Test against West Indies

New Zealand announced 13 men Squad for T20I and Test against West Indies. Black Caps to play 3 T20I and 2 Tests. New Zealand announced 13 men Squad for T20I and Test against West Indies.

The New Zealand Cricket Board announced 13 men Squad for T20I and Tests against West Indies. West Indies tour of New Zealand will begin on 27th November with T20I.

Black Caps have handed over the national call up to Devon Conway, Wellington Batsman for the T20I fixtures against West Indies. Along with Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson has also found his name in the T20 side. Jamieson who made his international debut earlier this year against India in ODIs and Tests will play T20I on November 27, 29, and 30.

However, Trent Boult and Kane Williamson are rested for the T20I series. Both experienced cricketers will play 2 Tests starting on 3 December. Tim Southee will be leading the T20 side in absence of experienced counterparts.

Southee, Ros Taylor, and debutant Jamieson will only be available for the first 2 T20’s before they join the 13 men Test squad against West Indies. Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn, and Mark Chapman will replace them in the 3rd T20I. Colin Munro will not be featuring in any of the squad due to his Big Bash League commitments.

Tom Latham and Time Southee| New Zealand Cricket
Tom Latham and Time Southee | Image – Getty Images

New Zealand coach Gary Stead on Squads:

I think we’re all very aware and appreciative of how much work has gone in to make this home summer possible – in what is clearly unprecedented times. The season schedule is complex and for the first time we’re going to have a BLACKCAPS Test squad assembling on the same day we’re playing a T20 International in another city,” Grey Stead said in a statement.

We’ve got players at quite different stages with some having played almost a month of domestic cricket, some in managed isolation following the IPL, and others battling injuries. Firstly, we have a challenging T20 series against an opposition full of stars with plenty of big-game experience. The three-game series is over just four days so we’ll need to hit the ground running to build some momentum for the summer,” he added.

With Colin heading to the Big Bash and therefore unavailable for the Pakistan T20 series pre-Christmas, the selectors are keen to look at other batting options at the top of the order,” he said.

New Zealand T20I Squad:

Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Ross Taylor, Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn, and Mark Chapman.

New Zealand Test Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Will Young

ALSO READ: Brad Hogg Picks Ajinkya Rahane ahead of Rohit Sharma for Test Captaincy

ALSO READ: Pat Cummins: Bio Bubble helped him for the upcoming series with India