Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Mumbai wins Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 thrashing Uttar Pradesh

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Mumbai wins Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 thrashing Uttar Pradesh.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Skipper Prithvi Shaw produced a sensational 73 off 39 balls post which Aditya Tare smacked an unbeaten hundred to reach the total in 41.3 overs. Mumbai won the title by six wickets against Uttar Pradesh in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Uttar Pradesh posted 312 runs total after Madhav Kaushik amassed unbeaten 158 runs for his side against Mumbai.

Mumbai bags their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title. The trophy will be special for the Mumbai skipper as he broke all previous records and scored 827 runs, which is the most by any Indian cricketer in the tournament in a single edition.

Both Mumbai openers chasing 312 gave a blistering start and reached 89 runs in 9.1 overs. Shaw reached his half-century in mere 30 balls after getting a life as he was dropped by Karan Sharma when he was in 5.

Post Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare and Yashaswi Jaiswal produced a good 38 runs stand before Jaiswal was caught by Mavi.

Aditya Tare continued his good run and produced a match-winning century. He scored 118 not-out off 107 balls with the help of 18 boundaries. 

Earlier, for UP, Madhav Kaushik remained not-out on 158 runs off 156 balls. He took the help of 15 boundaries and 4 towering sixes to score 158 runs. Samarth Singh and Aksdeep Nath both scored 55 runs however this was not enough to keep Mumbai out of the total.

Kaushik recorded the best score in the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy surpassing Mayank Agarwal’s 125 against Punjab in 2014.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: BCCI plans to auction two new IPL teams in May 2021
Vivo IPL 2021: Robin Uthappa expresses his desire to open innings for CSK in IPL 2021