Man of the Match
Rohit Sharma

Indian team has always managed to make their presence felt in the cricketing world with their remarkable performances in the shortest format of the game. The team is blessed with some of the most talented players in the world who have strengthened each and every department of the team to the utmost extent thereby helping the side achieve invincible heights in the history of T20I cricket. 

Right since the birth of the T20I format and the innaugral T20 World Cup, India has been a tough side to beat for any other team in the world. The credit for this must go to its fantastic players who’ve managed to turn the game on its head single-handedly time after time. 

Several players have provided the Indian team and the fans with numerous memories to cherish for several years to come in the T20I matches in the recent past. It’s time for us to have a look at the top three Indian players with the most Man of the match awards in T20Is so far. 

Yuvraj Singh (7 POTM awards)

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh

At no.3 in the list is India’s charismatic all-rounder, Yuvraj Singh. The left-handed explosive batsman has won India several matches by himself in his T20I career. One of his most memorable performances in T20Is came back in the 2007 T20 world cup against England wherein he smashed a magnificent 58 off just 16 balls. 

He broke several records that day when he smashed Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over and reached his fifty off just 12 balls. Yuvraj also was a very useful bowler as he often came up with crucial breakthroughs for his side. All these magical contributions helped him achieve 7 Man of the match awards in his T20I career.

Rohit Sharma (11 POTM awards)

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma with 11 Man of the match awards sits second in this illustrious list. The current Indian skipper has helped his side register several memorable victories all by himself. The 35-year-old has several T20I batting records to his name including those of most centuries, most 50+ scores and several others. 

It’s common for a batsman of his calibre to be adjudged the man of the match for his brilliant contributions to his side’s success. 

Virat Kohli (12 POTM awards)

Virat Kohli 3 compressed
Virat Kohli (12) has the most Man of the Match awards for India in T20Is

At no.1 position in the list is none other than Virat Kohli. The legendary batsman who has amassed runs at an average of over 50 in T20Is so far in his career has won 12 Man of the match awards so far in his T20I career. 

The right-handed batsman has been an absolute match-winner for India and has delivered several match-winning knocks for his team in the big stages. One of his most memorable knocks was an incredibly good inning of 82* against Australia in the 2016 T20 World Cup wherein he helped to seal a win for his side in an impossible-looking match. 

The 33-year-old has several batting records to his name in T20Is including the fastest batter to reach 1000 runs in T20I. The batsman with his versatile style of batting has amazed the world on several occasions and still continues to do so. 

Also Read:- Top 3 players with most runs as a captain in a single edition of the Asia Cup