IPL 2023: Will Delhi Capitals qualify for playoffs of IPL 2023?
Image: IPL

IPL 2023: Will Delhi Capitals qualify for playoffs of IPL 2023? Delhi Capitals (DC) is set to start their IPL 2023 campaign a day after the tournament opener in Ahmedabad. DC will face Lucknow Super Giants in their first assignment of the season at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow.

Ahead of the IPL 2023, Delhi suffered a big blow as their captain was ruled out of the tournament following an unfortunate car accident. Rishabh Pant is not fit and currently undergoing rehabilitation. Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals has refrained from announcing a replacement for Pant in the IPL 2023.

Earlier this month, Delhi Capitals revealed that Australian seasoned batter David Warner would lead the side in the IPL 2023. Although Delhi managed to find a worthy captaincy replacement in the team, they still haven’t figured out the wicketkeeper.

In some videos and photographs, Sarfaraz Khan was seen doing wicketkeeping drills and is likely to be behind the stumps, however, there is a big question of clarity in roles.

Delhi Capitals (DC) have still not won an IPL title despite being one of the oldest teams in the league. They have managed to come close multiple times, but the end hasn’t been memorable for them.

Aakash Chopra, the former Indian cricketer, reckons Delhi Capitals would have to wait a little longer to fill their empty trophy cabinet. He said, there is a lack of clarity in roles which may affect the side.

“Then you will have to have Manish Pandey at No. 4. Remember that there is no keeper thus far. Then Rilee Rossouw or Rovman Powell at No. 5. At No. 6, Sarfaraz Khan or any other keeper. We don’t even know who is going to keep. I am thinking Sarfaraz Khan but I don’t know”, said Aakash Chopra.

“Only three teams (from the original franchises) have not lifted the trophy so far – Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals and RCB. Delhi have also come close, all teams come close sometime or the other, but I don’t think they will come close this time”, he added.

Notably, Delhi Capitals finished fifth in the points table last year in IPL 2022 with seven victories and as many losses from 14 matches. Till the fag end of the tournament in IPL 2022, they couldn’t win two games in a row, which perhaps became their reason for elimination from the league stage.

Delhi Capitals Squad for IPL 2023

Ripal Patel, David Warner (c), Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Mitchell Marsh, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Aman Khan, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Vicky Ostwal, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Manish Pandey, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Rilee Rossouw.

To know more head to IPL’s official website.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: CSK’s Strongest Playing11 in IPL 2023 | CSK vs GT Probable Playing11