IPL 2023
Credits: BCCI

IPL 2023: The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 is just a few days away from now. The 16th edition of the league will begin from 31st March with a high-octane clash between defending champions Gujarat Titans and four-time champions Chennai Super Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The summit clash is scheduled to take place on 28th May and it’s fair to say that these two months will be more than a festival for cricket fans in India. 

The league will be played across 12 venues in Ahmedabad, Mohali, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, Jaipur, Mumbai, Guwahati and Dharamsala. The last there editions of the league were restricted to only a few selected venues due to Covid-19. But this time the tournament will be played in its old method as teams will both home as well as away games. 

IPL 2023: Who will be the wicketkeeper for Delhi Capitals in the IPL 16?

IMG 6944
Sarfaraz Khan| BCCI/IPL

IPL 2023: The franchises have kick-started their preparations for the tournament. They are leaving no stone unturned in the build-up to the tournament and also had some pre-tournament camps and sessions, where they played practice games and fine-tune their skills. 

If we talk about Delhi Capitals, they were jolted with a massive as skipper Rishabh Pant was ruled out of the tournament. The wicket-keeper batter met with a tragic accident in December last month and has been deemed unfit to play cricket for 7-8 months. 

While DC has made David Warner their captain for this season, the quality of Rishabh Pant as a batter and keeper will be a massive miss for the franchise in the tournament. The southpaw has been one of the consistent run-scorers for the team for the last few seasons and it’s fair to say that his shoes will be difficult to fill in. 

Although, Delhi Capitals have some exciting players in the hut and if managed well they can lead the team to glory. While the franchise founded an ideal captain in his place, there have been a lot of speculations about who will keep the wickets for the side in the tournament. 

Read Also: Watch – Steve Smith grabs one-handed screamer to send Hardik Pandya packing in the second ODI in Visakhapatnam

The franchise has two options in Sarfaraz Khan and Philip Salt. DC might be tempted to go with the English keeper but considering that team can play only four overseas players, it might not be possible to play him in the side as the foreign slots in the team have already been sealed by David Warner, Anrich Nortje, Rovman Powell and Mustafizur Rahman. 

Therefore the only option left with the team is of Sarfaraz Khan. The right-hander is a quality batter and can play a staggering role in the middle order as well. He has been consistently scoring runs in the domestic circuit and can be a perfect player for the team. Also, his picture while doing keeping practice recently hogged over the internet, which can well be an indication that he will perform the role of the keeper-batter in the team. 

IPL 2023: Delhi Capitals (DC) squad for the tournament 

IMG 6942
Delhi Capitals | BCCI/IPL

IPL 2023: DC had a decent auction this time around as they roped in the likes of Phil Salt, Ishant Sharma, Manish Pandey, Mukesh Kumar, and Rilee Rossouw to strengthen their team. Under the leadership of David Warner, they would be looking to win their first title. 

Here’s Delhi Capitals’(DC) squad for the tournament: 

David Warner (C), Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Sarfaraz Khan, Vicky Ostwal, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, Chetan Sakariya, Lungi Ngidi, Khaleel Ahmed, Pravin Dubey, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Aman Khan, Phil Salt, Ishant Sharma, Manish Pandey, Mukesh Kumar, and Rilee Rossouw.

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.