IPL 2023 Trophy
IPL 2023 Trophy (Image Source: IPL)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly one of the most popular and successful T20 leagues in the world. With the 16th edition of the tournament (IPL 2023) set to begin soon, fans are eagerly waiting to see which team will come out on top this year. However, before we dive into the upcoming season, let’s take a look at the top three captains who have lifted the IPL trophy the most times.

1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in the history of the IPL, having won the tournament five times with the Mumbai Indians. He took over as captain of the team in 2013 and has led them to victories in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. Under Rohit’s captaincy, the Mumbai Indians have become the most successful team in the IPL, having won the trophy a record five times.

Rohit’s calm demeanor, astute leadership, and ability to make crucial decisions at the right time have been instrumental in the Mumbai Indians’ success over the years. His batting prowess has also been crucial to the team’s success, with Rohit often playing match-winning innings in crunch situations.

2. MS Dhoni

cropped MS Dhoni min

MS Dhoni, the former Indian captain, is a legend of the game and has won the IPL trophy four times as the captain of the Chennai Super Kings. He led the team to victories in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. Dhoni’s leadership qualities and his ability to remain calm under pressure have been the hallmark of his captaincy.


Dhoni is known for his shrewd captaincy, tactical acumen, and the ability to get the best out of his players. His contribution as a finisher with the bat has also been immense, with Dhoni often taking the team over the line in tense run-chases.

3. Gautam Gambhir

GAUTAM Gambhir min
Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir is one of the most successful captains in the IPL, having led the Kolkata Knight Riders to victory in 2012 and 2014. He took over as the captain of the team in 2011 and transformed them into a formidable unit, with his tactical acumen and leadership skills coming to the fore.

Gambhir was also a prolific run-scorer for the Kolkata Knight Riders, often playing match-winning innings at the top of the order. His contribution to the team’s success has been immense, with Gambhir playing a key role in shaping the team’s identity and culture.

IPL 2023: which team’s captain can win IPL trophy?

In conclusion, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, and Gautam Gambhir are undoubtedly three of the most successful captains in the history of the IPL. Their leadership skills, tactical acumen, and ability to get the best out of their players have been instrumental in their respective team’s success. As we gear up for the 16th edition of the IPL, it will be interesting to see if any new captains can make it to this exclusive list of successful IPL captains.

Hardik Pandya is the second-time captain of the Gujarat Titans, and he will try to defend the trophy this year also. Virat Kohli is back to form, and this time RCB has a good chance to win the IPL 2023 trophy.