IPL 2023: DC Captain David Warner leaves heartfelt message for Rishabh Pant ahead of IPL 2023

IPL 2023: DC Captain David Warner leaves heartfelt message for Rishabh Pant: Delhi Capitals’ (DC) newly appointed captain David Warner has dropped a heartfelt and priceless message for Rishabh Pant, who unfortunately won’t participate in the impending IPL 2023 season. Warner wished Rishabh Pant a speedy recovery and also said the team is motivated to lift the IPL trophy in his absence.

Notably, Rishabh Pant met with a car accident on December 30 while returning home to celebrate New Year 2023 with his family. The cricketer’s Mercedes car rammed into the divider on the Delhi-Dehradun highway, giving him multiple injuries. He was soon taken to hospitals for preliminary treatments before getting admitted to the Max Hospital in Dehradun.

In a statement issued by Delhi Capitals (DC), David Warner admitted that they have huge shoes to fill in the IPL 2023 but the team is motivated to do good.

“We are motivated every season, but we are motivated even more to lift the title this year in your absence. We are going to be on the journey of your recovery with you. We are going to send some special messages and hopefully, you can come to one of our games,” Warner said in a statement issued by the franchise. “On behalf of the DC family, I would like to wish you all the best and a speedy recovery.”


This will be David Warner’s second assignment as the leader of the IPL franchise. The Aussie batter has previously served as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad from 2015 to 2020. He has also led SRH to its only IPL title victory in 2016. However, a rough patch in his career in 2021 saw him lose his captaincy spot as well as his place in the playing11 and Warner was eventually released from the SRH squad.

To everyone’s surprise, David Warner was picked by Delhi Capitals (DC) in the IPL 2022 mega auctions for a steal deal.

Along with David Warner, who will lead DC in the IPL 2023, all-rounder Axar Patel has been named as the vice-captain of the team for IPL 2023.

The opening batter added, “I am honoured to be named captain of the Delhi Capitals alongside Axar being named vice-captain. We have big shoes to fill.”

Delhi Capitals (DC) will begin its IPL 2023 campaign against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) on 1st April at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow.

DC Squad for IPL 2023: David Warner (c), Axar Patel (vc), Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Manish Pandey, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Rilee Rossouw.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: KKR captain Shreyas Iyer yet not out of IPL 2023, 10-days rest advised by the medics