Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020/21 Venues and fixtures announced

IPL 2021: BCCI divided into two halves for the induction of two new franchises.

IPL 2021, BCCI divided into two halves for the induction of two new franchises, The discussion for the addition of new franchises in IPL has divided the board panel into two groups. Some representatives of the group think the inclusion of the two sides is very much possible, President Sourav Ganguly, Secretary Jay Sah are in favor. However, some think as the time is very less it will be tough for the franchises to jell-in with the existing teams.

The amount of time for the introduction of the new teams for the upcoming season of IPL is too short. Players Auction, Tendering, and keeping stakeholders on the same page is the most important thing. We are of the opinion, inclusion should be shifted to IPL 2020,” a BCCI source said.

Our broadcast rights deal with Star will end by IPL 2021. After the end of the cycle, we should introduce new teams so that the broadcast rights and other commercial partnership values can be increased. The final decision now will be taken in AGM only and according to me the plan to increase teams will be shelved this year“.

BCCI’s broadcasting rights deal with Star will be till IPL 2021. After the end of the contract with the broadcasters, we should introduce new franchises so that the rights and commercial partnership values should be increased. The final call will be on the Annual General Meeting (AGM),” another BCCI official.

Ten franchises mean 94 games in the short window of IPL. This could be hectic for the players as well as the officials. Either the window should be increased or the induction should be done with some rules to reduce the games.

IPL 2021 New Team:

In case the proposal to introduce a new team gets a green signal, Gujrat’s Ahmedabad will be the first city to be called for the addition.

The proposal for the new team will be floated into the AGM meeting, which is scheduled for 24th December. The inclusion will be with the approval from all the representatives from the state associations on 24th December 2020.

Even if two teams are added, Ahmedabad will be the first choice to be added to the roaster, while Kanpur, Lucknow, and Pune remains to be the second.

ALSO READ: Australia vs India: Match Preview, Prediction, Playing 11, Dream11 Fantasy Tips Aus vs Ind 2nd T20I
ALSO READ: PCB to investigate the Covid Cases in Players after they reached New Zealand