INDvsWI ODI series to be held without spectators in Ahmedabad
Image: BCCI/Twitter

INDvsWI ODI series to be held without spectators in Ahmedabad: The upcoming three matches One Day International (ODI) matches between India and West Indies will be held behind closed doors, confirms the Gujarat Cricket Association. The West Indies tour of India starts on February 6 with the three matches ODI series followed by the as many matches T20I series.

“Considering the current situation, all the matches will be played behind the closed doors,” wrote Gujarat Cricket Association in a tweet.

It further came to the fact that India will play its 1000th ODI match in the Narendra Modi Stadium. Team India, on February 6, will become the first cricket team to play 1000 ODI matches. Australia is close to India with a total of 958 ODI matches in history.

“1st ODI on 6th of Feb will be a very special and historic match as India will be playing it’s 1000th ODI. Indian team will be the first cricket team in the world to achieve this feat,” the tweet from GCA added.

ALSO READ: England head coach Chris Silverwood to be removed from coaching role after England’s Ashes debacle

Team India has already landed in Ahmedabad and the contingent is currently undergoing its three days quarantine. After completing quarantine, the Indian players will begin their preparations.

Fortunately, Rohit Sharma is fit and will be available for the ODI matches. Apparently, the ODI series against West Indies will be Sharma’s maiden series as the captain of the side after being handed over a full-time responsibility.

The three matches T20I series will follow the ODI series, beginning on February 16. Eden Gardens, Kolkata will host all the T20I fixtures and the state body has permitted to allow 75 per cent attendance in the stadium.

The West Bengal government on Monday cleared all the indoor and outdoor sports activities to be held with 75 per cent seating capacity. 

For cricket fans, they can come and watch the live-action of the T20I series in the iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

ALSO READ: TATA IPL 2022: Know the owners of every IPL franchise