ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Shikhar Dhawan needs to cement his slot for T20 World Cup: VVS Laxman

India’s squad for the Sri Lanka tour, Shikhar Dhawan to lead the outfit.

The all India Senior Selection Committee on Thursday has announced a strong 20-men strong Indian squad for the tour of Sri Lanka which will begin in July. The tour will mark the absence of multiple senior players including the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami.

The southpaw Shikhar Dhawan is given the reins of the young Indian side that will tour Sri Lanka for three ODIs and as many T20Is.

Ace pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named Shikhar Dhawan’s deputy for the tour.

ALSO READ: ENGvsNZ: James Anderson Becomes The Most Capped English Test Cricketer Surpassing Alastair Cook

The One Day Internationals will embark on the beginning of the tour with three ODIs scheduled to be held on July 13, 16 and 18 followed by the T20Is on July 21, 23 and 25.

The board has given maiden international call-ups to six young cricketers – Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Krishnappa Gowtham, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy, and Nitish Rana.

The selection committee has also named five net bowlers for the tour in – Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh.

India’s squad for Sri Lanka tour:

India Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

ALSO READ: ICC WTC: Team India’s First Group Training Session Ahead Of WTC Final, See Pictures

India’s squad for the Sri Lanka tour, Shikhar Dhawan to lead the outfit.