Indian umpires Virendra Sharma, Anil Chaudhary and Nitin Menon to officiate in the Test series against England

Indian umpires Virendra Sharma, Anil Chaudhary and Nitin Menon to officiate in the Test series against England.

India vs England Test Series: Three Indian ICC panelled umpires have been appointed to officiate the upcoming Test Series against England. Virendra Sharma, Anil Chaudhary and Nitin Menon will be in charge of the series against England. Virendra Sharma and Anil Chaudhary will be making their debut in the longest format.

Both the debutants will be joined by India’s Elite Panel representative Nitin Menon who has done the job before in the longest format of cricket. 

Due to travel restrictions and the complications involved due to the harsh pandemic, ICC has approved the home umpires in the ICC World Test Championship games. The India-England series will begin on 5th February 2021.

In addition to this, ICC has also introduced three Decision Review System (DRS) calls for each team so that the chances of the wrong decision could reduce. With three DRS, the teams will have enough calls left to turn the Umpires decision, in case they feel, which will reduce the chances of mistakes by Umpires.

Blessing in disguise for Indian umpires:

Last year in November, PTI reported that due to travel restrictions it will be blessing in disguise for the Indian umpires who rarely gets the chance to officiate the longest format of cricket. India has only one umpire in the Elite Panel of Umpires.

Earlier, Sundaram Ravi from Tamil Nadu, India was in the list of Elite Panel while he was removed from the position due to successive failure.

In recent times, India’s Nitin Menon is the youngest Umpire in the Elite Panel and is considered as the bright prospect for the future.

Virendra Sharma has featured in two ODIs and solitary T20I game while Anil Chaudhary has outings in 20 ODIs and 28 T20Is.

Nitin Menon has officiated in three Test games along with 16T20Is and 24 ODIs.

All the three umpires from India are the regular faces of Indian Premier League.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: 3 International stars who likely to go unsold in IPL 2021 mini-auctions
India vs England Series: Team India clears first of 3 Covid-19 tests