India vs West Indies ODI Squads
India vs West Indies ODI Squads 2023

India vs West Indies ODI Series: After winning the Test series 1-0 as the second test was called a draw due to rain, the two teams are set to square off in an ODI and T20I series. The three-match IND vs WI ODI series begins from July 27 onwards. Both boards have announced their respective squads and in this post, we will walk you through India vs West Indies ODI Squads 2023.

The last time, India played an ODI series against the West Indies was in July 2022. India dominated the West Indies in all 3 of the games during the away series. The men-in-blue intend to seek a similar outcome this time as well.

With the Asia Cup on the horizon, this series will be crucial. The first ODI of India vs West Indies series begins on July 27 in Barbados. The second One-Day International will also be played there, and the third and last One-Day International between India and the West Indies is scheduled to take place in Trinidad.

India vs West Indies ODI Squads 2023
Image Source: BCCI

Rohit Sharma is heading a fairly good ODI side for the India-West Indies series. The team includes players like Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal. Rahul, who is out of the lineup while undergoing medical care for the leg injury he suffered during the IPL, has been replaced by Samson.

Shami’s absence among the bowlers would put Md Siraj at the helm of the attack. Unadkat, Thakur, and Umran Malik are among the other new ball bowlers. Mukesh Kumar, the lone uncapped player, might not appear in any ODIs between India and WI in 2023.

In the meanwhile, the West Indies have also revealed their lineup for the India vs West Indies ODI series. The 15-man team was picked after a four-day training camp at Kensington Oval to prepare white-ball players for the forthcoming CG United ODI Series.

Shimron Hetmyer, a left-handed batsman, and Oshane Thomas, a fast bowler, have both been called up by the WI selectors. Following their recovery from surgery, fast bowler Jayden Seales and leg-spinner Yannic Cariah have also been added, while left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie has also returned from injury.

India vs West Indies ODI Squad

India’s ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Surya Kumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya (vc), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

West Indies ODI Squad: Shai Hope (C), Rovman Powell (VC), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas.

India vs West Indies ODI Schedule

27th July 2023: India v West Indies 1st ODI – Kensington Oval, Barbados
29th July 2023: India v West Indies 2nd ODI – Kensington Oval, Barbados
1st Aug 2023: India v West Indies 3rd ODI – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad

READ: “Anderson Cost England The Ashes,” Bold Remarks By Michael Vaughan

For more details head to BCCI’S official website.