India vs Bangladesh 1st test day 3
India in the driving seat in the 3rd dat of 1st test.

India vs Bangladesh: Day 3, often said moving day, India strengthened their hold on the 1st test match. As India declared on 258 for 2, giving Bangladesh a target of 513 for the first Test in Chattogram, Shubman Gill got his first Test hundred and Cheteshwar Pujara his first in 52 innings and the fastest of his career. They gave themselves two days to take ten wickets, which was more reasonable.


This came after Kuldeep Yadav, who was playing his eighth Test overall and first in the last 22 months, grabbed his third five-wicket haul to smash Bangladesh for 150 in the first inning. India basically dominated the whole third day, which featured two hundred and three fifty-run stands. At the end of the third evening, Bangladesh’s openers were still unbeaten after cutting the goal of 513 runs to 471. Let’s take a brief overview of Day 3.

India vs Bangladesh: 1st Test | Day 3| Review

After starting the day with 133 for 8, Bangladesh could only add 17 more runs before Kuldeep wrapped up his five-for by having Ebadot Hossain caught on the leg in the fifth over. The other overnight batter, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, attempted to farm the strikes even more after that but was soon stumped by Axar Patel while aiming for a big hit. India now had a lead of 254, but they chose not to enforce the follow-on.

India vs Bangladesh 1st test day 3
Kuldeep Yadav got a five-for on his Test return (ESPNcricinfo)

As Ebadot Hossain did not enter the field for the second innings, Khaled Ahmed and Taijul Islam began bowling for Bangladesh. Ebadot was out of the field for the rest of India’s first innings on Thursday as well after Shreyas Iyer was dismissed. The hosts were down to just three frontline bowlers because Shakib Al Hasan was also not able to bowl, most likely because of the rib injury he sustained during the ODI series.

KL Rahul and Gill didn’t show any hurry, accumulating only 16 runs in the first eight overs. The two added 70 for the first wicket before Khaled’s short-ball ploy accounted for Rahul. Shubman Gill reached his century with 10 fours and 3 sixes, whereas Pujara was quicker this time to reach the hundred with 13 boundaries in just 130 balls, and together they put up 113 runs partnership. 

India vs Bangladesh 1st test dat 3
Pujara and Gill scored hundreds (ESPNcricinfo)

India declared the 2nd innings with Pujara’s century when only about 10 to 12 overs left for the day and Bangladesh batted well without losing any men to end the day.

India vs Bangladesh: 1st Test | Day 3| Scorecard

India 1st innings- 404/10

KL Rahul (c)b Khaled Ahmed22543040.74
Shubman Gill c Yasir Ali b Taijul Islam20403050.00
Cheteshwar Pujara b Taijul Islam9020311044.33
Virat Kohli lbw b Taijul Islam150020.00
Rishabh Pant b Mehidy Hasan Miraz464562102.22
Shreyas Iyer b Ebadot Hossain8619210044.79
Axar Patel lbw b Mehidy Hasan Miraz14262053.84
Ravichandran Ashwin st Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz581132251.32
Kuldeep Yadav lbw b Taijul Islam401145035.08
Umesh Yadav not out151002150.00
Mohammed Siraj c Mushfiqur Rahim b Mehidy Hasan Miraz4310133.33
Ebadot Hossain2127013.33
Khaled Ahmed2034312.15
Shakib Al Hasan1242602.16
Taijul Islam461013342.89
Mehidy Hasan Miraz31.5611243.51
Yasir Ali10707.00
Najmul Hossain Shanto20703.50

Bangladesh 1st innings- 150/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto c Pant b Siraj01000.00
Zakir Hasan c Pant b Siraj20453044.44
Yasir Ali b Yadav4170023.52
Litton Das b Siraj24305080.00
Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Kuldeep Yadav28583048.27
Shakib Al Hasan (c)c Kohli b Kuldeep Yadav3250012.00
Nurul Hasanc Shubman Gill b Kuldeep Yadav16223072.72
Mehidy Hasan Miraz st Pant b Patel25822130.48
Taijul Islam b Kuldeep Yadav04000.00
Ebadot Hossain c Pant b Kuldeep Yadav17372145.94
Khaled Ahmed not out014000.00
Mohammed Siraj1322031.53
Umesh Yadav813314.12
Ravichandran Ashwin1013403.40
Kuldeep Yadav1664052.50
Axar Patel8.541011.13

India 2nd innings- 258/2 (d)

KL Rahul (c)c Taijul Islam b Khaled Ahmed23623037.09
Shubman Gill c sub (Mahmudul Hasan Joy) b Mehidy Hasan Miraz11015210372.36
Cheteshwar Pujara not out10213013078.46
Virat Kohli not out19290065.51
Khaled Ahmed1305113.92
Taijul Islam23.437103.00
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1418215.85
Yasir Ali602804.66
Litton Das201306.50
Najmul Hossain Shanto301204.00

Bangladesh 2nd innings- 42/0 (12 overs)

Najmul Hossain Shanto not out25423059.52
Zakir Hasan not out17303056.66
Mohammed Siraj301103.66
Umesh Yadav11000.00
Ravichandran Ashwin512304.60
Axar Patel20402.00
Kuldeep Yadav10404.00

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.