India vs Australia | BCCI

India vs Australia: Indian team carried the confidence of the Test series into the ODIs as they produced a staggering effort with the ball in the first game of the three-match series in Mumbai. The first game between India and Australia is underway and the Hardik Pandya-led side made a mockery of the opposition in the first innings. 

India won the toss and opted to bowl first, on a pitch which seemed a good batting track. Australia took advantage of a good batting surface and had a rollicking start despite Travis Head walking back to the pavilion early. Mitchell Marsh took Indian bowlers to cleaners and smashed them all over the park for his brutal knock of 81 runs in 65 balls.

Apart from Marsh, no other Australian batter crossed the 30-run mark as Indian bowlers were on top of the game. Mohammed Siraj drew the first blood for his side as he removed Head for just 5 runs in the 2nd over. After that Steve Smith tried to hold the fort but was removed by his Indian counterpart Hardik Pandya for 22 runs. 

ALSO READ: IND vs AUS ODI Schedule 2023, Squads, Venues, Ticket Booking Details, Live Streaming

The Indian bowlers then gained momentum and bowled some impeccable lines and lengths to keep things tight and put Australia under immense pressure. Mohammad Shami then was on the roll as he sent the stumps of Australian batting cartwheeling and executed his plans sensationally well to return with the figures of 3/17. 

His bowling effort was complimented well by other bowler as well. Apart from Shardul Thakur, every Indian bowler was among the wickets and based on the superlative bowling effort they bundled out the opposition for just 188 runs in just inside 36 overs. Notably, Australia lost the last 8 wickets for just 59 runs.

India vs Australia: Scorecard of the first innings of the first ODI between India and Australia 

IMG 6784
Team India | BCCI

Here’s the batting scorecard of the first innings:

Batter name Runs Balls 4s6s Strike rate 
Travis Head 5101050 
Mitchell Marsh 8166105124.62
Steve Smith 22304033.33
Marnus Labuschagne 15221068.18 
Josh Inglis 26271196.3
Cameron Green 12190063.16
Glenn Maxwell 10101080
Marcus Stoinis 581062.5 
Sean Abbot 07000
Mitchell Starc 4*101040
Adam Zampa 06000

Here’s the bowling scorecard of the first innings:

Mohammad Shami62173
Mohammed Siraj 5.41293
Hardik Pandya 50291
Shardul Thakur 20120
Ravindra Jadeja 90462
Kuldeep Yadav 81481

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.