India and South Africa ODI Squad announced for South Africa vs India ODI series
Image Source:Twitter

India and South Africa ODI Squad announced for South Africa vs India ODI series: Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Sunday announced its 17-men strong star-studded squad for the ODI series against India, starting January 19.

Temba Bavuma is set to lead the side while spinner Keshav Maharaj has been appointed Bavuma’s deputy.

Unfortunately, paceman Anrich Nortje hasn’t been able to prove himself fit and is subsequently ruled out of the three matches ODI series as well after missing the test series.

Young left-arm pacer Marco Jansen has received a maiden call-up after a fantastic test debut in Centurion.

Dwaine Pretorius and Andile Phehlukway have returned back to South Africa’s ODI squad after a good recent T20 World Cup 2021

Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, who abruptly announced his test retirement recently, is available for the three one-dayers, which is a positive sign for the hosts.

Here is the schedule for the three-match ODI series between South Africa and India:

1st ODI – 19th January – Boland Park, Paarl 

2nd ODI – 21st January – Boland Park, Paarl 

3rd ODI – 23rd January – Newlands Cricket Ground

ALSO READ: Team India’s Cricket Schedule for 2022

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also revealed its 18-men strong Indian ODI squad. 

Unfortunately, the new Indian white-ball skipper, Rohit Sharma couldn’t make himself available owing to his untimely hamstring injury. The BCCI has given reins of the team to young KL Rahul while pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has been elevated to the role of team’s vice-captain.

Virat Kohli is available for the series, which is a huge positive from India’s perspective. Venkatesh Iyer has received a maiden call-up. Ruturaj Gaikwad is also included in the squad.

Interestingly, Ravichandran Ashwin has made his comeback to India’s ODI squad after a long haul of three years. 

Down below are India and South Africa’s ODI squads:

India’s ODI Squad for South Africa tour 2021:

Squad: KL Rahul (C), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Surya Kumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Siraj.

South Africa’s ODI squad for home series against India:

Squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Keshav Maharaj (vc), Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Aiden Markram, Wayne Parnell, Sisanda Magala, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada,  Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli’s big hundred in the test will come soon says head coach Rahul Dravid