IND vs SA 3rd T20I: Suryakumar Yadav joins Rohit Sharma, Maxwell in list of Players with Most T20I Centuries
Associated Press

India batter Suryakumar Yadav is one the verge of breaking a massive record of Virat Kohli in T20Is. The batter is just two Man of the Match awards away from becoming the player with the most Player of the Match awards in Men’s T20. 

Suryakumar Yadav currently has 14 Man of the Match awards in just 60 matches. Whereas Virat Kohli has 15 in 115 games, which speaks volumes about how great a T20I batted Suryakumar has turned into since the time he made his debut for India. 

Suryakumar Yadav was excellent in the recently concluded T20I series against South Africa. He was at his exceptional best and led from the front in both the games. He was one of the main reason why India kept their record of not losing against Proteas in T20Is since 2015 intact. 

Suryakumar Yadav slammed a blistering half-century in the second T20I and during that game, he equalled Virat Kohli as a batter to score the fastest 2000 runs in T20Is. The captain continued his golden touch in the next game as he played a blinder there. 

Also Read: IND vs SA: India playing 11 for the first ODI against South Africa

Suryakumar Yadav registered a magical century and became the player with joint-most centuries in the T20Is. He scored 100 runs off 56 balls and batted with a strike rate of over 178, smashing 7 fours and 8 sixes. He also became the batter with the second most sixes for India in T20Is. 

IND vs SA: Most Player of the Match awards in Men’s T20I; Suryakumar Yadav on the cusp of achieving massive feat 

RSA vs IND: Suryakumar's message to the youngsters ahead of the 1st T20I | India vs South Africa
Suryakumar Yadav | Image Credit – Getty Images

With the way Suryakumar Yadav has been playing in the T20Is, it’s fair to say that he can easily surpass Virat Kohli’s record of most Man of the Match awards in T20Is. It’ll be no surprise if he achieves the feat in the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan

Here’s the list of players with the most Man of the Match awards in T20Is 

Virat Kohli – 15 (115 matches)
Suryakumar Yadav – 14* (60 matches)
Sikandar Raza – 14 (78 matches)
Mohammad Nabi – 14 (109 matches)
Rohit Sharma – 12 (148 matches)