Ishan Kishan, the Indian wicketkeeper, avoided receiving a severe penalty. He might have missed at least four ODIs because of the error he made in Hyderabad’s opening match against New Zealand. But ICC match official Javagat Srinath just issued Ishan a warning. Everyone will now be wondering what offense Ishaan committed in the first ODI that warranted a punishment of four ODIs, not one or two. Ishaan would have been unable to participate in both the series against Australia and the third ODI against New Zealand in Indore in such a circumstance. Ishaan actually made an attempt to trick the umpire.
Ishan Kishan, the wicketkeeper for India, allegedly tried to intentionally deceive the umpire during the first ODI match against New Zealand, according to a report on the news website Stuff in New Zealand. The dismissal of New Zealand captain Tom Latham is connected to this occurrence. In the Hyderabad ODI, Kishan attempted to convince the square leg umpire that Kiwi skipper Tom Latham personally struck the stumps. Latham’s dismissal had also been contested by Kishan. TV replays, however, revealed that the wicketkeeper had purposefully attempted to pull down the bails without the ball in hand after Latham had played the shot a significant amount of time earlier.
What rules of conduct does the ICC have?
Ishan might have been accused of seeking to take unfair advantage, a Level-3 infraction under the ICC Code of Conduct. If found guilty, he could have faced a suspension of 4 to 12 ODIs or T20 matches. However, the report states that Ishaan received no punishment from match referee Srinath. since neither of the field umpires, Nitin Menon or Anil Chaudhary filed a formal complaint regarding the occurrence. Srinath must have discussed this with Ishaan Kishan, Rohit Sharma, and coach Rahul Dravid after the game.