Ravichandran Ashwin and Narendra Modi
Ravichandran Ashwin and Narendra Modi

India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the shining light of day 3 for his team. The all-rounder scripted history as he became only the second bowler from India to claim 500 wickets in the longest format of the game. 

Ravichandran Ashwin hit the magic number on Day 2 of the ongoing third Test between India and England. The match between the two teams is taking place at the Rajkot. However, it saw history getting scripted. 

Ravichandran Ashwin claimed his 500th Test wicket when he removed Zak Crawley. The Indian off-spinner became the 9th bowler in the history of the game to achieve the feat. He became the fastest bowler to achieve the feat. 

Ravichandran Ashwin in his 98 Test claimed his 500 Test wickets. The off-spinner has arguably been one of the best bowlers to have ever played the game of cricket. He will be extremely vital for the team going into the IND vs ENG series.

Also Read: IND vs ENG: Rohit Sharma shatters 5 major records after his 131 against England in Rajkot  

As Ravichandran Ashwin completed his 500 Test wickets, Indian Prime Minister Narendra  Modi penned down a heartfelt message for the off-spinner for his milestone. He said that the Indian player’s journey and accomplishments are a testament to his skill. Taking to his Twitter account, he explained: 

“Congratulations to Ravichandran Ashwin on the extraordinary milestone of taking 500 Test wickets! His journey and accomplishments are a testament to his skill and perseverance. My best wishes to him as he scales further peaks.”

Ravichandran Ashwin joins an elite list of players with the most Test wickets 

Here is the list of players with the most Test wickets: 

Muttiah Muralitharan 1992-2010133230440397339.51794181808009/5122.722.4755.044567
Shane Warne (Australia1992-2007145273407056784.11761179957088/7125.412.6557.494837
James Anderson (England) 2003-2024185*344395776596.11712183716967/4226.392.7856.863232
Anil Kumble (India) 1990-2008132236408506808.215761835561910/7429.652.6965.993135
Stuart Broad (England)2007-2023167309336985616.21304167196048/1527.682.9755.792820
Glenn McGrath (Australia)1993-2007124243292484874.41470121865638/2421.642.4951.952829
CA Walsh (West Indies1984-2001132242300195003.11144126885197/3724.442.5357.843222
Nathan Lyon (Australia) 2011-2024127238324405406.41034158895178/5030.732.9362.742323
Ravichandran Ashwin (India) 2011-202498*184257494291.3884119745007/5923.942.7951.492434

Sent from my iPhone