Ind vs Aus: Steve Smith to lead Australia in ODI series, Cummins stays home! | IND vs AUS ODI Series 2023
Steve Smith to lead Australia in ODI series, Cummins stays home!

Ind vs Aus: Steve Smith to lead Australia in the ODI series, Cummins stays home: Steve Smith will lead Australia in the three-match ODI series against India after serving as skipper in the previous two Test matches against that team. Steve Smith will lead the Aussies men in India while Pat Cummins stays at home for a while longer. Pat Cummins just lost his mother and had to return home in the middle of the India tour. Australia will attempt to gain something from the ODI series after losing the Test series 2-1.

The Australian Coach Andrew McDonald confirmed the news and said, “Pat won’t be coming back, he’s still taking care of what’s happened back home. Our thoughts are with Pat and his family as they go through that grieving process.” It means Smith will stay on as a skipper.

After the team’s second Test loss in Delhi last month, Cummins promptly took off for Home to be with his family. Maria, the mother of the 29-year-old, passed away in Sydney last Friday, ahead of the second day of the fourth Test.

IND vs AUS: Injury Updates and Replacements

1- McDonald confirmed David Warner, who missed the final two test matches due to an elbow fracture, will make his return to the 50-over squad against India.

2- Although Nathan Ellis was just recalled after Jhye Richardson had to leave early due to undergoing hamstring surgery, Cummins has not been replaced in the 15-man team.

3- Josh Hazlewood, who also served as captain of the ODI team during the England series when Cummins missed a game, is not available due to a recurring Achilles issue.

4- With Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar will rekindle their spin combo after being sent home during the middle of the Test series. The series also sees the comeback of Glenn Maxwell after a leg injury and Mitchell Marsh after ankle surgery.

IND vs AUS: Full Squads

Australia: Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, K L Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkatt

READ: IND vs AUS ODI Schedule, Full squads, Timing, Book tickets, Venues, and Probable playing 11.

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.