Ind vs Aus: India beat Australia by 6 wickets, took 2-0 lead in 4-match Test Series | Border Gavaskar Trophy Ind vs Aus 2nd Test
Ind vs Aus: India beat Australia by 6 wickets, took 2-0 lead in 4-match Test Series

Ind vs Aus: India beat Australia by 6 wickets, took 2-0 lead in 4-match Test Series: India upsets Australia yet another time in the Border Gavaskar trophy 2023. India handed a 6-wicket defeat to the visitors, finishing the match on Day 3. Ravindra Jadeja took the command in bowling where he knocked down 7 heads of the opposition which was the main highlight of the day.

Australia loses the plot mentally more often than on the field in yet another three-day Test. Travis Head gave Australia a strong start in the second inning, and by the time play ended yesterday, they were up. Today, in contrast, felt like a collective ‘brain-fade’ for the team.

India are now leading the series with a scoreline of 2-0. With this win, India solidified their spot in the race for the WTC final. Rohit and co now just need to win 1 test out of two to book their slot for the WTC final without depending on other series.

Ind vs Aus

Let’s take a brief overview of Day 3:


Ind vs Aus 2nd test: Review Day 4

Australia resumed their innings from 61/1 on a hazy morning. Ashwin started bowling for India and he has been the thorn in the flesh for the Aussies. He took down the aggressor Travis Head straightaway in the 4th ball of the day. Ashwin again strikes after a few overs when he hit the pads of Steve Smith in front of the wicket and sooner Peter Handscomb falls to Ashwin.

Ashwin did the damage to the top order then Jadeja took the charge and let none of the Australian batters settle down. He took the next 6 wickets in a single spell and Australia were concluded at just 113 runs. With a 1-run lead in the first innings, Australia set the target of 115 runs in front of India.

Rohit Sharma looked in a hurry while chasing 115. He took on the visitor bowlers and scored a really quick 31 off 20 balls. KL Rahul’s poor show continued and yet another time he departs for 1 run. Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer contributed but couldn’t stick to finish the match. Kohli, however, achieved the feat of international 25,000 runs. KS Bharat was an interesting one to look as in such a low-keeping surface, a rookie comes and started taking on the bowlers. It was Pujara who finished the game in style with a Four! India won the 2nd Test by 6 wickets.

Ind vs Aus 2nd test: Scorecard

Australia 1st Inning- 263/10

David Warner c Bharat b Mohammed Shami15443034.09
Usman Khawaja c Rahul b Jadeja8112512164.80
Marnus Labuschagne lbw b Ashwin18254072.00
Steven Smith c Bharat b Ashwin02000.00
Travis Head c Rahul b Mohammed Shami12301140.00
Peter Handscomb not out721429050.70
Alex Carey c Kohli b Ashwin05000.00
Pat Cummins (c)lbw b Jadeja33593255.93
Todd Murphy b Jadeja04000.00
Nathan Lyon b Mohammed Shami10262038.46
Matthew Kuhnemann b Mohammed Shami6120050.00
Mohammed Shami14.446044.09
Mohammed Siraj1023003.00
Ravichandran Ashwin2145732.71
Ravindra Jadeja2126833.23
Axar Patel1223402.83

India 1st Inning- 262/10

Rohit Sharma (c)b Lyon32692046.37
KL Rahul lbw b Lyon17410141.46
Cheteshwar Pujara lbw b Lyon07000.00
Virat Kohli lbw b Kuhnemann44844052.38
Shreyas Iyer c Handscomb b Lyon4150026.66
Ravindra Jadeja lbw b Murphy26744035.13
Srikar Bharat †c Smith b Lyon6121050.00
Axar Patel c Cummins b Murphy741159364.34
Ravichandran Ashwin c Renshaw b Cummins37715052.11
Mohammed Shami b Kuhnemann290022.22
Mohammed Siraj not out140025.00
Pat Cummins1324113.15
Matthew Kuhnemann21.347223.34
Nathan Lyon2956752.31
Todd Murphy1825322.94
Travis Head201005.00

Australia 2nd Inning- 113/10

Usman Khawaja c Iyer b Jadeja6131046.15
Travis Head c Bharat b Ashwin43466193.47
Marnus Labuschagne b Jadeja35505070.00
Steven Smith lbw b Ashwin9191047.36
Matt Renshaw lbw b Ashwin280025.00
Peter Handscomb c Kohli b Jadeja03000.00
Alex Carey b Jadeja7101070.00
Pat Cummins (c)b Jadeja01000.00
Nathan Lyon b Jadeja8211038.09
Todd Murphy not out3140021.42
Matthew Kuhnemann b Jadeja02000.00
Ravichandran Ashwin1635933.68
Mohammed Shami201005.00
Ravindra Jadeja12.114273.45
Axar Patel10202.00

India 2nd Inning- 118/4

Rohit Sharma (c)run out (Handscomb/†Carey)312032155.00
KL Rahul c Carey b Lyon130033.33
Cheteshwar Pujara not out31744041.89
Virat Kohli st Carey b Murphy20313064.51
Shreyas Iyer c Murphy b Lyon121011120.00
Srikar Bharat not out232231104.54
Matthew Kuhnemann703805.42
Nathan Lyon1234924.08
Todd Murphy6.422213.30
Travis Head10909.00

READ: TATA IPL 2023: Making an All-Time Best Playing XI of the TATA IPL. 

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.