IND vs AFG: Afghanistan's squad against India for T20I series against India

IND vs AFG: Afghanistan’s Selection Committee has unveiled a 19-member squad for the three-match T20I series against India. The T20i series kicks off on January 11, with the first T20i set to take place at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

Rashid Khan, the Afghanistan T20i skipper, has been included in the team but might not play in any games as he is currently recovering from the back surgery he underwent in November 2023. Ibrahim Zadran, in the absence of Rashid Khan, led the Afghanistan cricket team to a 2-1 series win against the UAE in Sharjah and will continue to lead the Afghans in the three-match T20i series against the Men in Blue.

Off-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who didn’t play in the recently concluded T20i series against the UAE, has returned to the squad for the series against India. Ikram Alikhil has also been included in the squad as a backup wicketkeeper.

Mr. Mirwais Ashraf, the Afghanistan Cricket Board Chairman, said, “We are really happy to travel to India for our maiden three-match T20i series. India is one of the best teams in the world, and we are delighted to witness the Afghans compete in a three-match T20i series against India. We believe that the Afghans are not the underdogs anymore, and we have excelled in every aspect. We are looking forward to playing in a highly competitive T20i series against India.”

Afghanistan’s Squad for the T20I series against India

Ibrahim Zadran (C), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Rahmat Shah, Hazratullah Zazai, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Azmaullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, FazalHaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan and Gulbadin Naib.

India vs Afghanistan T20I Series 2024

January 11, 1st T20I, PCA Stadium, Mohali

January 14, 2nd T20I, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

January 17, 3rd T20I, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Read: Australian fans enter the SCG field to celebrate David Warner’s Farewell Test

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates.