Team India and Sourav Ganguly | Twitter

The ICC WTC Final is around the corner. The summit clash will see India and Australia locking horns with each other from the 7th to the 11th of June at Oval England. Talking about India, this is for the second time they have reached the finals and with the kind of squad they have it’s fair to say that it’ll be the best opportunity for them to lift the ICC trophy after 13 years. 

ICC WTC Final: “If he gets a chance in the WTC Final, he’ll make the most of it,” Sourav Ganguly backs Ajinkya Rahane to shine against Australia

Ajinkya Rahane
Ajinkya Rahane | Image Source: Google

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) surprised many when they announced the squad for the ICC WTC Final. What caught the attention of many was Ajinkya Rahane was recalled in the team in the absence of Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. 

Ajinkya Rahane was dropped from the Indian team after his poor run of form in the Tests and recently was also terminated from the annual contract of BCCI. It wasn’t expected that he would be named in the squad for WTC Final. But to many’s surprise, he was back in the mix. 

Read Also: IPL 2023: Ranking All IPL 10 Teams Based on Their Potential set of Allrounders

Ajinkya Rahane piled up over 600 runs in the Ranji Trophy and then showed great form in the ongoing IPL 2023. With two main players being injured, selectors felt that he would be best for the one-off Test and his experience would be handy. 

Sourav Ganguly feels that Ajinkya Rahane will be make the most of the opportunity if he gets one in the ICC WTC Final. He said: 

“I’ve always liked Ajinkya Rahane. He’s always been a good player for India. If he gets a chance in the WTC Final, he’ll make the most of it”.

It remains to be seen if Ajinkya Rahane gets opportunity in the Indian team for the WTC Final. It’ll be a golden chance for him to reclaim his stake and assert his authority back in the India side.

ICC WTC Final: India Squad for the ICC World Test Championship Final 

ICC WTC Final 2023 Schedule, IND vs AUS Playing XI, Squads, Tickets, Points Table, Live Streaming Full Details
Image Source: Twitter

Here’s India’s Test squad WTC final: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.