Sunday, June 23, 2024

ICC World Cup 2023: South Africa Qualified for ODI World Cup 2023 After the 1st ODI of IRE vs BAN was called off


South Africa Qualified for ICC World Cup 2023: On 9th May 2023, Ireland hosted an ODI match against Bangladesh at Chelmsford. Due to heavy rain, the game has been called off. Ireland’s hope for direct qualification for the ODI World Cup 2023 ended after the game was called off due to heavy rain.

South Africa won their last ODI series against the Netherlands last month. After winning the series, they got a position in the top 8 of the ICC ODI World Cup Super League points table. After winning the series against the Netherlands, South Africa’s qualification depended on Ireland vs Bangladesh ODI series because the point difference between South Africa and Ireland was very small.

After calling off the 1st ODI of Ireland and Bangladesh, ICC released a new updated ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Super League Points table and cleared the last member who got a ticket for ICC World Cup 2023 was South Africa. 

ICC confirmed that South Africa is Qualified for ICC World Cup 2023, which is hosted by India. South Africa secured their Position in the top 8 of Super League standings. Now Eight teams who qualified for the ICC World Cup are confirmed, and the rest two teams will qualify after playing ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe next month.

Pakistan’s Participation is Doubtful for ODI World Cup 2023:

After the BCCI’s decision to shift the Asia Cup from Pakistan due to the security issue of team India, the Pakistan Cricket Board gave a statement about Participation in the World Cup. They said that if India is not going to Pakistan for the Asia Cup, then Pakistan will not participate in the World Cup 2023 in India. 

Two teams will be decided in ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers: 

Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Netherlands are going to play the ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier in Zimbabwe from 18th June to 9th July. The winner and Runner Up of the World Cup Qualifier will get a ticket for the World Cup 2023 in India. 

Teams Qualified for the ICC World Cup 2023:

  1. India(Hosts)
  2. Australia
  3. England
  4. New Zealand
  5. South Africa
  6. Bangladesh
  7. Afghanistan
  8. Pakistan

ICC Men’s ODI Team Ranking:

5New Zealand363,903108
6South Africa313,141101
8Sri Lanka363,09986
9West Indies433,10572

Read This Also: ICC ODI WORLD CUP 2023 Super League Points Table (Updated) May 10th After IRE vs BAN 1st ODI

For More Check Official Site: ICC

Bookmarked post
Amit Patel
Amit Patel
Amit Patel is a cricket writer on ICC Cricket Schedule website. He loves cricket and writes about it. His articles cover cricket news, match analysis, and fantasy cricket tips.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS