Full Strength South Africa T20I Squad Announced for India tour
Image Source: The Indian Express

Full Strength South Africa T20I Squad Announced for India tour: A full-strength 16-member contingent has been named by the Cricket South Africa (CSA) for the T20I tour of India, beginning after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League. The five matches T20I series between India and South Africa gets underway on June 9 in the national capital.

Young batter Tristin Stubbs, who scored second-most runs in the domestic T20 challenge, has received a maiden call-up to the national T20I squad. Stubbs, who is a part of Mumbai Indians (MI) in the Tata IPL 2022, scored 293 runs in seven innings at an impressive average of 48.83.

All the South African cricketers who missed their national duties during the test series against Bangladesh are named in the 16-men strong squad. The likes of Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, David Miller and Kagiso Rabada are available.

Speedster Anrich Nortje, who hasn’t played for South Africa since the last T20 World Cup, is also available for the India tour. Nortje was struggling with his persistent hip and back injury after the T20 World Cup 2021. He is currently with Delhi Capitals, playing in the IPL.

Nortje has scalped seven wickets so far in the Tata IPL 2022 after featuring in five matches for the Delhi based franchise.

“This is the Proteas like we have not seen them in a long time. The injection of the IPL players means that we will have a team that’s ready to fire on all cylinders immediately and has vast experience of the conditions that we will be playing in,” said CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang, in an official statement.

“Tristan Stubbs is an exciting prospect and we’re keen to see what he’s made of and we are looking forward to the return of the experience of Reeza (Hendricks), Klaasie (Heinrich Klaasen) and Wayne Parnell to join the likes of Temba (Bavuma), Tabraiz (Shamsi) and Keshav (Maharaj),” he added.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on May 17

South Africa T20I squad against India:

Temba Bavuma (C), Anrich Nortje, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Quinton de Kock,Rassie van der Dussen, Keshav Maharaj, Marco Jansen

India vs South Africa T20I Schedule and Fixture:

June 9IND vs SA 1st T20IArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
June 12IND vs SA 2nd T20IBarabati Stadium, Cuttack
June 14 IND vs SA 3rd T20IDr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
June 17IND vs SA 4th T20ISaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
June 19IND vs SA 5th T20IM.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: AB De Villiers and Chris Gayle Inducted into the RCB Hall of Fame.