Rohit Sharma 2023 {PC Getty}
Rohit Sharma {PC Getty}

ESPNCricinfo has named their ODI XI of the 2023. The media outlet named Indian skipper Rohit Sharma as the captain of the team. The opening batter was exceptional as the skipper of the team in the ODIs this year and guided his team to the final of the World Cup. 

Rohit will be opening the innings in the ODI XI along with his Indian opening partner Shubman Gill. The latter ended 2023 as the leading run-getter in the 50-over format whereas Rohit was among the leading run-getters in the format this year. 

At No.3, ESPNCricinfo named Virat Kohli for the kind of year he had. The Indian batter was at his classical best in 2023 as he played some great knocks and powdered his team to win. He was the leading run-getter in the World Cup with 765 runs from 11 innings to his name. 

At No.5, Travis Head got the nod ahead. The opening batter was at his brutal best in ODIs in 2023. He played a magnificent innings in the final of the World Cup as he scored 137 runs and took his team to win. Daryl Mitchell will follow him at No.5 in the ODI XI. 

Also Read: IND vs SA: South Africa suffers major blow as star pacer gets ruled out of the second Test

Heinrich Klaasen is the wicket-keeper batter picked by ESPN Cricinfo in their ODI XI. The keeper-batter played magnificently well in the format this year and changed the game for his team quite a few times. Marco Jansen has been backed in the ODI XI as pacer blowing all-rounder. 

Whereas Adam Zampa and Kuldeep Yadav are the two spinners. The Indian spinner ended with the most wickets in ODIs in 2023. India duo of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah are the two frontline pacers in the team picked by ESPNCricinfo. 

ESPNCricinfo name their ODI XI of 2023; Rohit Sharma named captain 

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Players with Most Runs and Most Wickets (20 Nov) After IND vs AUS World Cup 2023 Final | Player Rankings 1 – 10
World Cup 2023: Travis Head incredable ton led Australia win 6th World Cup Title (Getty Images)

Here’s ESPNCricinfo’s ODI XI of 2023

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Travis Head, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Mohammed Shami, Adam Zampa, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav