Thursday, July 25, 2024

ENG vs PAK: Babar Azam joins Virat Kohli in a massive feat; becomes only 2nd batter to achieve this huge milestone


Pakistan skipper Babar Azam achieved a massive feat in the history of the T20Is. The right-hander became only the second batter after Virat Kohli to complete 4,000 runs in the shortest format of the game for the national side. 

Babar Azam achieved the feat during the fourth and final game between England and Pakistan at Kennington Oval in London on Thursday (May 30th). He played a decent knock for his team and etched himself in the records books. 

Babar Azam looked in decent touch in the fourth game against England and played a vital innings. He tried to be aggressive as he slammed consecutive boundaries off Chris Jordan to go past the 4000-run mark in the T20I cricket for Pakistan. 

Babar Azam achieved the milestone in his 119th T20I game. He joined Virat Kohli, who scored 4000 runs in his 107 innings. Pakistan skipper became the second fastest to achieve the feat as he took 112 innings to go past the landmark in the shortest format of the game.

Also Read: Pakistan vs England: Babar and Company train hard ahead of England T20I Series

In the fourth T20I against England, Babar Azam scored 36 runs off 22 balls. Overall he has scored 4023 runs in 112 innings. The Pakistan skipper is just 14 runs behind Virat Kohli, to become the leading run-getter in the history of T20Is.

Despite his efforts, Pakistan failed to win the game. The Men in Green got bundled out for just 158 runs. In response, England’s batters got berserk and chased the target in just 15.3 overs and won the game by 7 wickets. They also clinched the series by 2-0. 

Top 5 most run-getters in T20Is; Babar Azam on the verge of becoming top-scorer

Babar Azam
ENG vs PAK: Babar Azam joins Virat Kohli in a massive feat; becomes only 2nd batter to achieve this huge milestone 2

Here’s the list of the top 5 most run-getters in T20Is:

  • Virat Kohli [India] – 4,037 runs (107 innings)
  • Babar Azam [Pakistan] – 4,023 (112 innings)
  • Rohit Sharma [India] – 3,974 (143 innings)
  • Paul Stirling [Ireland] – 3589 (141 innings)
  • Martin Guptill [New Zealand] – 3531 (118 innings)

Also Read: Babar Azam breaks Virat Kohli’s record in T20I Cricket

Bookmarked post
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh has 3+ years of experience in producing cricket articles. His expertise extends to cricket news, match analysis and fantasy cricket tips, providing valuable insights to fans around the world.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS