New Dates for Ranji Trophy 2022 announced, domestic tournament to begin on February 16

BCCI appoints Ex Gujrat GDP as BCCI Anti Corruption Unit Chief.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday appoints former Gujrat Director General of Police (DGP) Shabir Hussein Shekhadam Khandwawala as the BCCI’s Anti Corruption Unit Chief. Khandwawala will take over the reins from Ajit Singh Shekhawat whose tenure ended on 31st March 2021.

The 1973 UPSC selected batch IPS officer will head to Chennai for the opener of the Indian Premier League on April 09th.

According to the top BCCI official who is in the know of the situation, said that Ajit Singh Shekhawat was given two months extension for the forthcoming IPL season by BCCI however he denied the extension. Shekhawat will help and assist the newly appointed ACU chief Shabir Hussein Shekhadam Khandwawala in the operation functioning and other things.

The tenure of Khandwawala as the BCCI ACU chief is not known.

“His (Khandwawala’s) appointment was done last month itself. The board wanted Ajit Singh to continue during the IPL but he didn’t accept the offer,” a board official said.

This time, BCCI unanimously decided to appoint the former DGP of Gujrat as the new chief of BCCI’s Anti Corruption Unit.

Earlier in 2018, BCCI approved the applications for the post of ACU and it stated that the applicants should not be above the age of 62 as of 01.11.2018.

The ACU has the work to look into the cases involving the threats to the game. Supervision, Investigation, Looking into the cases headed by the posts, working with the Police and ensuring preventive measures in the safe conduct of the Cricket tournaments in India.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Mohammad Azharuddin Offers BCCI To Host IPL 2021 Games In Hyderabad
Vivo IPL 2021: Ben Stokes And Jos Buttler To Open Innings For Rajasthan Royals: Eoin Morgan