Bangladesh's Predicted squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled the official schedule of the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup on 5th January and the Bangladesh Men’s National Cricket Team was placed in Group D alongside South Africa and arch rivals Sri Lanka. Netherlands and Nepal are a part of Group D as well. 

This year’s T20 World Cup has introduced an innovative format, as a total of 20 teams will be competing against each other to get their hands on the precious T20 World Cup Trophy. Five teams per group have been divided into four groups each and the top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super eight stage. Four teams will be placed in two Super Eight groups and the top two teams will qualify for the Semi Finals. The winners of the two semis will take on each other in the final of the 2024 T20 World Cup on 29th June, 2024.

The Bangla tigers, usually considered as underachievers in ICC tournaments, will be aiming to give their best in this year’s T20 World Cup as this edition is anticipated to be the final T20 World Cup of spin bowling All Rounder Shakib Al Hasan. The 37 year old would be looking to end his T20i career on a high note. 

Shakib recently recovered from the retinal issue which made him miss the T20i and ODI series against Sri Lanka so he will be expected to play a key role in Bangladesh’s success in this year’s T20 World Cup. The 37 year old will also be leading his team’s spin bowling department in the upcoming World Cup. 

The experienced duo of Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar will be anticipated to handle the opening duties for Bangladesh in this year’s T20 World Cup. Both of them have a tendency to attack from the word go and they have the potential to destroy any bowling attack with their high strike rates. Liton Das’s inning of 60 runs in 27 balls at a strike rate of 222.22 against India in the 2022 T20 World Cup just goes on to show his prowess as a batter. 

Team Bangladesh
Bangladesh's Predicted squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup 2

Najmul Hossain Shanto took over the leadership duties of Bangladesh following Shakib’s retinal issue and while he wasn’t able to guide his team to a victory in the two match T20i series against Sri Lanka, Shanto led the Bangla Tigers to a 2-1 victory in the Three – match ODI series and his will be anticipated to lead Bangladesh in this years 2024 T20 World Cup. 

Experienced campaigner Mahmudullah was called up by the Bangladeshi selectors for the Sri Lanka T20i series and played a brilliant inning of 54 runs in the very first T20i against Sri Lanka and his inclusion in the team will provide some much needed stability to the middle order of Bangladesh. 

The duo of Mohammad Naim and Anamul Haque performed Exceptionally well in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League 2024 and both are expected to be up for this year’s World Cup. Their inclusion will provide a dynamic and fresh dimension to the T20i squad of the Bangla tigers. 

Left arm seamer Shoriful Islam recently received an all format contract from the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and he had a tremendous 2023 ODI World Cup as well so is also anticipated to get selected in the squad for the T20 World Cup. 

Experienced duo of Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed will be tasked to lead the fast bowling unit of the Bangla Tigers in this year’s World Cup. The fiz especially has been wonderful so far with the ball in IPL 2024 as he has picked up seven scalps in just three matches so far for CSK and he will play a key role for Bangladesh with the ball for the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

The duo of Mahedi Hasan and Taijul Islam will be anticipated to play the role of the spin bowlers alongside Shakib Al Hasan. 

With a mixture of experienced players and promising youngsters, it remains to be seen whether the Bangla Tigers can provide a perfect farewell to Shakib by lifting their first T20 World Cup trophy. 

Bangladesh’s predicted 15-member squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup:

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Naim, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Towhid Hridoy, Afif Hossain, Ebadot Hossain and Nurul Hasan

Read: Pakistan squad for the T20I Series to be announced on this date