Australia gave India a target of 275 runs in the first ODI match
India vs Australia, 1st ODI | Pic Credit: Twitter, BCCI

India vs Australia, 1st ODI: The first match of the ongoing three-match ODI series between India and Australia is being played today at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, from 1:30 pm. KL Rahul, who is leading the Indian team in the absence of Rohit Sharma, won the toss and decided to bowl first. In reply, the Australian team scored 276 runs at the loss of 10 wickets in the stipulated 50 overs. The men in blue need 277 runs to win the first ODI match.

David Warner, the Australian team’s opener, scored the most runs. He scored 52 runs in 53 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes, the 29th of his ODI career. Apart from him, Steve Smith scored 48 runs before being bowled by Mohammed Shami on a beautifully played ball. Australian captain Pat Cummins scored 21 runs in nine balls, including two fours and a six, bringing the Australian team’s innings total to 276 runs.

Mohammed Shami took five wickets

Mohammed Shami took five wickets
Mohammed Shami | Pic Credit: Twitter, BCCI

Mohammed Shami, who did not get a place in the playing eleven in Asia Cup 2023, bowled brilliantly against Australia and took five wickets for 51 runs in 10 overs. For the first time, any bowler has taken five wickets in Mohali. Apart from him, Jasprit Bumrah took one wicket. Ashwin, who was returning to the team after a long time, also took a wicket.

The Indian team needs 277 runs in 50 overs to win the first ODI match. This target may seem even bigger to the Indian team in the absence of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Hardik Pandya. Now it will be interesting to see whether such senior players as Shubham Gill, Rituraj Gaikwad and Suryakumar Yadav contribute to the team’s victory.

Match Details

Tour: Australia tour of India, 2023

Match: India vs Australia, 1st ODI

Date: Friday, September 22, 2023

Toss: India won the toss and opted to bowl

Time: 1:30 PM

Venue: Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

Australia Batting Scorecard

Mitchell Marsh 4410100.00
David Warner 52536298.11
Steven Smith 41603168.33
Marnus Labuschagne 39493079.59
Cameron Green 31523059.61
Josh Inglis454532100.00
Marcus Stoinis 292150138.09
Matthew Short 240050.00
Pat Cummins (c)21921233.33
Sean Abbott 2200100.00
Adam Zampa 2200100.00

India Playing 11

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (c & wk), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami

Australia Playing 11

David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Short, Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa

Read – ICC World Cup 2023: Pakistan Announces squad for the World Cup; Hasan Ali returns 

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC