Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill - Source: Mint

Asia Cup 2023: CEAT Cricket Awards ceremony took place on Monday (21st August) and it saw quite a few cricketers getting felicitated ahead of the Asia Cup 2023. Among the Indian players, New Zealand’s premier batter Kane Williamson also won awards at the event. 

Young Indian batter Shubman Gill was honoured with CEAT ODI Batter of the Year as well as the ‘International Cricketer of the Year’ awards. The right-hander has been a prolific run-getter for the team since he made his debut and he rightfully deserves the awards. He smashed tons in all three formats and scored runs consistently. 

CEAT T20 Batter of the Year award went to none other than Suryakumar Yadav for his rollicking show in the shortest format of the game. Ever since he made his debut for the team he has taken world cricket by storm and is currently the No.1 batter in T20Is. He piled up over 1000 runs in 2022 in this format. 

Read Also: ICC World Cup 2023: Shubman Gill, and Mohammed Siraj feature as ICC names nominees for Player of the Month award

In terms of bowling, Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the CEAT T20 Bowler of the Year for his heroics in 2022. He was the main architect behind India’s success last year. In 32 games he picked up 37 wickets at an average of 19.56 and an economy of 6.98. 

Apart from this, Kane Williamson was handed the CEAT ‘Test Cricketer of the Year’ award. The right-hander was at his exceptional best in the longest format of the game in 2022. The former Test captain scored 852 runs from 8 games at an average of 71 with four hundreds to his name. 

Here’s the list of awards won by players 

Player NameAward
Bhuvneshwar KumarT20 Bowler of the Year
Suryakumar YadavT20 Batter of the Year
Shubman GillODI Batter of the Year
Kane WilliamsonTest Cricketer of the Year
Shubman GillInternational Cricketer of the Year

Asia Cup 2023: India squad for the Asia Cup 2023 

Asia Cup 2023

It’s time for Asia’s biggest tournament as all the Asian heavyweights will be going up against each other in the Asia Cup 2023. The tournament will be played from 30th August to 17th September.  Out of 13 games, 4 games will take place in Pakistan whereas 9 games will be played in Sri Lanka. It’ll be great preparation for all of them to prepare themselves for the World Cup and get their combination right.

Here’s India’s squad for the Asia Cup 2023: 

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, and Sanju Samson (back up).