India vs Pakistan in Asia Cup 2022 on August 28
Getty Image

Asia Cup 2022 to be held in Sri Lanka, tournament to be played in T20 format: The upcoming edition’s Asia Cup is now confirmed to be held in the island nation, Sri Lanka. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) on Saturday announced the dates for the tournament, which will be held in the T20 format.

The multi-Asia-nation tournament is slated to begin from August 27 to September 11 while the qualifiers will start from August 20.

The Asia Cricket Council (ACC) have confirmed the development, giving fans hope to witness one more India vs Pakistan clash in the T20 format. Fans will see another India vs Pakistan clash in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Notably, Asia Cup 2020 was postponed by the governing authorities owing to the unprecedented rise in the Covid situation. ACC had plans to conduct the tournament in 2021, however, due to jam-packed international schedules the plans were laid down to rest.

The last time Asia Cup was played was in 2018 in which India and Bangladesh featured in the finals. Wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Karthik slammed an 8 ball 29 runs in the final over to stun the Bangladeshis and seal India’s seventh title.

“The Asia Cup 2022 (T20 Format) will be held in Sri Lanka from 27 August – 11 September later this year. The Qualifiers for the same will be played 20 August 2022 onwards,” Asian Cricket Council (ACC) wrote in a tweet.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: All-Time IPL XI. Best Team, Gayle, Malinga, Kohli. 

ACC President Jay Shah’s tenure extended by a year:

In another development, Jay Shah, who is also the president of the ACC along with being BCCI’s secretary, has been awarded a one-year extension as the president. The officials unanimously approved the decision after Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) President Shammi Silva proposed the idea.

“AGM Update: The ACC Members unanimously decided that the tenure of Mr. @JayShah as ACC President and that of the Executive Board along with its Committees will continue until the 2024 AGM @BCCI @TheRealPCB @BCBtigers @ACBofficials @ThakurArunS.”

Jay Shah will be at the helm of ACC until 2024.

ALSO READ: Playing11 of all IPL teams in IPL 2022 – MI, CSK, KKR, DC and RCB