India vs England: Nathan Lyon fumes at Motera pitch critics

The ongoing Ashes series has been keeping everyone on their toes. The competition between bat and ball has been enthralling to watch as both the teams have fought tooth and nail and have left no stone unturned in outclassing others. But Australia have proved why they are the champions as they have taken the lead of 2-0. 

Ashes 2023: Australia suffers a massive blow as Nathan Lyon gets ruled out of the entire Ashes

Nathan Lyon
Team celebrates, Lyon taking wicket of Hasan Ali. (Photo: AFP)

Australia have produced two magnificent performances in the first two games of the series. But going into the third match, they have suffered a massive blow as their ace spinner Nathan Lyon has been ruled out of the entire remainder of the series. 

Nathan Lyon suffered a torn in his right calf during the second Test against England at Lord’s. Following that he left the field and didn’t bowl and field in the game. But when the team needed he come out in pain to bat for the team and added crucial runs for the team in the end. 

Read Also: IPL 2023: MS Dhoni To Play against RCB? CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan opens up about his injury

Nathan Lyon consulted the medical team and following that he was deemed unfit to play. He became only the sixth player in the history of the Tests to play 100 Tests in a row and the only bowler to do it. But unfortunately couldn’t play the full match. 

Nathan Lyon has never missed the game due to injury for Australia in the longest format of the game. The last he didn’t don the Australian whites was when he was omitted for the first two Tests of the 2013 Ashes series. 

Ashes 2023: Australia announces 17-member squad for the third Test 

The Ashes 2021-22: Australia retained The Ashes 2021-22, crushing England by 3-0

Australia squad for third men’s Ashes Test

Pat Cummins (capt), Steven Smith (vice-capt), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Todd Murphy, Scott Boland, Michael Neser, Marcus Harris, Mitchell Marsh, Jimmy Peirson (wk)