All-Rounder Ravindra Jadeja likely to get ruled out of Bangladesh tour
Reuters Image

All-Rounder Ravindra Jadeja likely to get ruled out of Bangladesh tour: Premier team India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is unlikely to feature in the upcoming tour of Bangladesh as he is yet to recover from his injury. Jadeja was earlier expected to be fit for the Bangladesh tour which will start on December 04 at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka.

As per the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) sources, Ravindra Jadeja is still unfit for selection in the Indian squad. He hasn’t recovered from his freak injury which he sustained during the Asia Cup 2022 playing against Hong Kong. Following the injury, the all-rounder had to miss the latter part of the Asia Cup 2022 and the subsequent T20 World Cup 2022. 

Notably, while announcing India’s squad the BCCI mentioned Ravindra Jadeja’s inclusion in the Bangladesh tour will be subject to fitness. “Mr. Ravindra Jadeja’s availability is subject to fitness,” the BCCI had said in its October 31 media release.

As per the media reports, Shahbaz Ahmad is likely to be called in as Jadeja’s replacement for the tour. Meanwhile, a few reports indicated that the BCCI is keen on looking at Suryakumar Yadav in the traditional format of cricket. 

Team India’s tour of Bangladesh will begin on 4th December at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka with the three-match ODI series. The second and third games of the ODI series will be held on the 7th and 10th of December respectively. Following the ODI series, India and Bangladesh will indulge in two test matches which will be part of the ICC World Test Championship. 

All the prominent members of the Indian team will be present for the Bangladesh tour. The likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul etc will be available for the upcoming tour. 

ALSO READ: IPL franchise asks BCCI to reschedule Tata IPL 2023 Auction due to Christmas

India’s Squad for Bangladesh tour 2022:

India’s squad for Bangladesh ODIs: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Mohd. Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Subject to fitness), KL  Rahul (VC), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, Yash Dayal

India’s squad for Bangladesh Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, KL Rahul (VC), Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Subject to Fitness), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Virat Kohli, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Format Revealed, World Cup 2024 to be held in different Format