Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 Full Schedule, Teams, Groups, Players and Venues

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 Full Schedule, Teams, Groups and Venues.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 Schedule: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to go for the shorter format instead of Ranji Trophy due to time complexity. After the successful completion of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT), BCCI took the consent from all the associated associations and it was finally decided that Vijay Hazare Trophy will be conducted this year. This was the first time in 87 years that the Ranji Trophy games have been dropped.

The BCCI has confirmed that the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 will be conducted from February 20 to March 14. Karnataka who couldn’t perform well in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is the defending champion of the tournament and Tamil Nadu emerged as the runner up last time. Tamil Nadu has won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 Dates/Schedules: 20 February to March 14.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 Teams, Groups and Squads:

A total of 38 teams across India will take part in the tournament and all the teams have been divided into six groups. The first five groups (A, B, C, D, and E) are the Elite groups while the last one is the Plate Group. 

All the Elite group teams will play their games in Surat, Indore, Bangalore, Jaipur, and Kolkata while the Plate Group will have their games in different locations of Tamil Nadu.

All the teams will have to follow the covid-19 protocols strictly and the game procedure which was used in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be used. All the players are asked to reach the locations a week before the tournament i.e., February 13. 

All the players will undergo three covid-19 tests that will be conducted on 13,15 and 17th February. The players practice session will be on 18th and 19th after players are tested negative.

The league phase of the tournament will be from February 20 until March 1.

The knockout games will begin with pre-quarterfinal on March 7, quarterfinals on March 8 and March 9. The semifinals will be taking place on March 11 and the final will be held on March 14. 

Vijay Hazare Trophy Teams, Groups and their venues:

Elite A: Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Hyderabad, Tripura, Baroda, Goa. 

Venue: Surat.

Elite B: Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Vidarbha, Andhra Pradesh. 

Venue: Indore.

Elite C: Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Odisha, Railways, Bihar. 

Venue: Bangalore

Elite D: Delhi, Mumbai, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Pondicherry. 

Venue: Jaipur.

Elite E: Bengal, Services, Jammu & Kashmir, Saurashtra, Haryana, Chandigarh. 

Venue: Kolkata.

Plate Group: Uttarakhand, Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Sikkim. 

Venue: Tamil Nadu.

ALSO READ: India vs England: Virat Kohli will step down from Captaincy if India loose 2nd Test: Monty Panesar
IPL 2021: Vivo quits as IPL title sponsorship, Unacademy and Dream 11 in the race