Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeThe Hundred...

The Hundred 2024: All team’s full squad analysis


The Hundred is a special version of the shortest format of the game. Started back in 2021, it will be the fourth season of the Hundred, which is organized by the English Cricket Board. 8 teams signify different grounds across England, and this time around as well, the same eight teams will feature in the fourth edition of the Hundred.

This format has a delivery count of 100 balls, with field restrictions of up to 25 balls. Each bowler bowls a maximum of 20 deliveries with straight 5-10 balls in a row. The 8 teams, namely, Birmingham Phoenix, London Spirit, Welsh Fire, Oval Invincibles, Southern Brave, Manchester Originals, Northern Superchargers, and Trent Rockets.

Before the tournament kick starts on the 23rd of July, let’s have a good look at the squads of 8 different teams of the Hundred, as there are several significant changes to the squads from the previous edition.

The 8 teams: Full Squad details

Birmingham Phoenix

The Phoenix side has the minimum number of players in the contest. With the smallest of squads, their main focus has been on all-rounders, as the team’s batting unit does not seem to be very convincing. Though they comprise largely of a huge number of all-rounders, especially the experienced Woakes, Moeen Ali, and Livingstone, the team does not seem to be equally efficient.

Full Squad: Chris Woakes, Naseem Shah, Liam Livingstone, Ben Duckett, Moeen Ali, Adam Milne, Benny Howell, Will Smeed, Jamie Smith, Tom Helm, Sean Abbott, Dan Mousley, James Fuller, Jacob Bethell, Rishi Patel, and Aneurin Donald.

Oval Invincibles

One of the most convincing squads, the defending champions of the Hundred from the last season in 2023, has built quite a power-packed squad. Comprising of some quality players like Will Jacks, Sam Curran, Adam Zampa, Spencer Johnson, Dawid Malan, and Sam Billings, they have formed the most amazing squad one could at the Hundred.

Full Squad: Sam Curran, Will Jacks, Tom Curran, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Adam Zampa, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Spencer Johnson, Donovan Ferreira, Nathan Sowter, Tom Lammonby, Mark Watt, Marchant de Lange, and Tawanda Muyeye.

London Spirit

Still searching for their first-ever title win in the Hundred, the team consists of a fine blend of youth and experience, as they have the experience of Russell, Hetmyer, and Bopara alongside young talents Crawley, Ellis, and Ollie Pope, all of whom contribute to the team’s excellence. This time, the London Spirit will keep their spirits high to find themselves among the best in the competition.

Full Squad: Zak Crawley, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nathan Ellis, Liam Dawson, Dan Lawrence, Daniel Worrall, Olly Stone, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Matt Critchley, Michael Pepper, Ravi Bopara, Adam Rossington, Ollie Pope, Richard Gleeson, and Ryan Higgins.

Manchester Originals

The English skipper leads the Manchester Originals, a team of imbalance, as they have world-class superstars like Buttler, Salt, Raza, and Farooqi, alongside some very inexperienced English locals. Yet confident enough, Buttler’s Originals will be in the hunt for their first title at the Hundred.

Full Squad: Jos Buttler, Jamie Overton, Sikander Raza, Paul Walter, Phil Salt, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Usama Mir, Tom Hartley, Wayne Madsen, Josh Hull, Max Holden, Sonny Baker, Tom Aspinwall, Scott Currie, Mitchell Stanley, Josh Hull, and Matthew Hurst.

ALSO READ: MLC 2024: 5 players who are a must-pick for MI New York vs. Seattle Orcas clash

Northern Superchargers

The team comprising immensely talented players, to be led by Harry Brook, will be exciting to watch, as even they will be on the quest for their maiden title. Stokes, Pooran, Rashid, Sams, Topley, and Short, alongside the skipper who holds massive importance, will all be seen playing a game with all their might.

Full Squad: Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, Nicholas Pooran, Harry Brook, Reece Topley, Daniel Sams, Matthew Short, Adam Hose, Tom Lawes, Matthew Potts, Graham Clark, Callum Parkinson, Ollie G Robinson, Jordan Clark, Dillon Pennington, and Jason Roy.

Welsh Fire

Welsh teams seem to be good with several quality players with both bat and ball, but what they lack would be the form of their players, and hence they might face a lack of intent and confidence. With Shaheen withdrawing from their squad, it only adds to their difficulty. However, senior pros Bairstow, Willey, and Rauf will look to guide their team home with good results in the season, as it is often said that when it comes to the shortest format, form always does not count.

Full Squad: Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Willey, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Clarke, Haris Rauf, Tom Abell, David Payne, Luke Wells, Glenn Phillips, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephen Eskinazi, Jake Ball, Chris Cooke, Matt Henry, Mason Crane, and Ben Green.

Trent Rockets

Another title holder into the tally, as they have a team worthy of praise. Though Alex Hales has not been seen in English colors this time around, he, along with Rashid Khan, Rovman Powell, Imad Wasim, and several other fine English players, add great spice to the team.

Full Squad: Joe Root, Rashid Khan, Imad Wasim, Rovman Powell, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Tom Banton, John Turner, Sam Hain, Sam Cook, Calvin Harrison, Jordan Thompson, Adam Lyth, Tom Alsop, and Ollie E. Robinson.

Southern Brave

Only one word for this team: ‘Best’. Yes, they indeed are the most balanced squad on sheets with the best players who suit the format. From batting superstars to finishers and a great bowling deck, all that needs a team to be called champions. However, all that glitters is not gold, so let’s not judge a team only by its players; all have equal chances with a fair spirit of the game.

Full Squad: Kieron Pollard, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Laurie Evans, Tymal Mills, Akeal Hosein, Leus du Plooy, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, Finn Allen, Danny Briggs, Alex Davies, George Garton, Joe Weatherley, and James Coles.

Bookmarked post

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS