Vivo IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad ropes in Sherfane Rutherford as Jonny Bairstow’s replacement

Sunrisers Hyderabad ropes in Sherfane Rutherford as Jonny Bairstow’s replacement.

Vivo IPL 2021: The Sun group owned IPL franchise, Sunrisers Hyderabad on Saturday late night roped in West Indies power hitter Sherfane Rutherford as a replacement of English wicketkeeping batsman Jonny Bairstow for the remainder of the Vivo IPL 2021 which comprise 31 matches.

Englishmen Jonny Bairstow pulled back from the second phase of the IPL 2021 after India showed its reluctance to field a proper playing11 in the fifth test match against England at Manchester. Though the exact reason is still under the covers, the sources in the know of development believe that the decision would have probably come in as retaliation by the England cricketers following the call-off of the England vs India 5th Test. 

Besides Bairstow, pacer Chris Woakes and batsman Dawid Malan have also withdrawn from the gala Indian league.

Rutherford, the recent addition for SRH, has featured in one IPL season for defending champions Mumbai Indians. The cricketer made his appearance in IPL 2019 and could only manage to score a total of 73 runs from seven matches. 

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav and Bumrah reach UAE

Owing to his poor show in the IPL 2019, Mumbai Indians dropped him from the squad in the next auction.

Owing to his good run of form in the ongoing Carrebian Premier League, Rutherford is signed by the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The batter has plundered 202 runs in seven matches which includes three half-centuries for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. 

Earlier, Punjab Kings (PBKS) announced the signing of South African Aiden Markram as a replacement for English batter Dawid Malan, who also pulled out after the cancellation of the 5th Test.

Delhi Capitals (DC) is yet to announce its replacement for pace all-rounder Chris Woakes for the remaining matches of the IPL 2021.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup Squads of participating teams, India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand