Ranji Trophy 2022
IMG SRC: CricketAddictor

The Ranji Trophy is the most important competition of red-ball cricket in India. The tournament has given us many gems. The Ranji Trophy 2022 season was an amazing one. Many players performed exceptionally well this year. Madhya Pradesh has however managed to get its hands on this prestigious trophy. This Madhya Pradesh team has created history by winning the trophy for the first time in the history of this team. The final was played between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh. Here is an in-depth look: 

Ranji Trophy 2022 Final, Madhya Pradesh Wins Ranji Trophy for the First Time: 

The final was an amazing conquest. It featured a top-notch display of cricket by both teams. Both teams played their hearts out and the result was achieved on the 5th day of the match.  

The first innings of the Mumbai team were great. The team started on a positive note. Prithvi Shaw and Yashasvi Jaiswal gave them a powerful start. Shaw got out for 47 and Yashaswi batted till he got 78. MP was looking to get back as they had Mumbai for 248-6 but Sarfaraz Khan stood tall. He has dominated this Ranji Trophy season like no other batter. He showed signs of great form at the far end of the last season and carried on that form this season as well. He scored an elite 134. Mumbai ended with 374.  

MP batted well too. With the aid of Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, and IPL sensation Rajat Patidar they belted the Mumbai bowlers for 6 sessions in the field. The MP team amassed 536 runs getting a lead of 162 in the first innings. All the 3 batters scored hundreds and made the Mumbai bowlers toil like labor class.  

The second innings of Mumbai started well but faltered at the end. Mumbai was helped by Prithvi Shaw and Suved Parker. The team was at 196-4 and looked settled to make a good score. But Kumar Kartikeya, another sensation of the IPL 2022 season got the breakthroughs. MP was given a target of 104 with 2.5 sessions to play. The job was easily done by the MP batters. 

Brief Scores of the Ranji Trophy 2022 Final: 

Mumbai First Innings: 374/10 

  • Sarfaraz Khan 134 of 243 balls.  
  • Yashaswi Jaiswal 78 of 163 balls. 
  • Gaurav Yadav: 4/106 

Madhya Pradesh First Innings: 536/10 

  • Shubham Sharma: 116 runs of 225 balls. 
  • Rajat Patidar: 122 of 219 balls. 
  • Yash Dubey: 133 runs of 336 balls. 

Mumbai Second Innings: 269/10 

  • Suved Parker: 51 runs off 58 balls 
  • Sarfaraz Khan: 47 runs off 48 balls 
  • Kumar Kartikeya: 4/98 

Madhya Pradesh Second Innings: 108/4 

  • Himanshu Mantri 37 runs of 55 balls. 

Top Performers of the Season: 

Sarfaraz Khan Ranji Trophy

The top performer of the Ranji Trophy 2022 final was Shubham Sharma. He was awarded for his splendid performance the bat. Sarfaraz Khan is one performer who dominated this domestic season. The positive of his performance is that he is a middle-order batter. And the national team currently is looking for a great middle-order batter in the red-ball circuit.  

Most Runs (1st Position) Sarfaraz Khan Mumbai Cricket Association 982 Runs 
Most Runs (2nd Position) Rajat Patidar Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association 658 Runs 
Most Wickets (1st Position) Shams Mulani Mumbai Cricket Association  45 
Most Wickets (2nd Position) Kumar Kartikeya Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association  32 

To read more go to Indian Cricket Team: 3 Top Key Players for India at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

Read more such articles at Rohit Sharma Tests Positive for Covid-19. In Isolation at Team Hotel.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.