New Zealand defeated West Indies by an innings and 12 runs in 2nd Test

New Zealand defeated West Indies by an innings and 12 runs in the 2nd Test.

Nz vs WI: Kiwis put up a clinical show against the visitors in the second game to seal the series. New Zealand defeated West Indies by an innings and 12 runs in the second test at Basin Reserve.

Tom Latham and Co. took a little extra than an hour for wrapping up the game on the fourth day. West Indies skipper Jason Holder and Joshua de Silva put up a good 80 runs stand to survive the third day.

Earlier, West Indies won the toss and opted to bowl.

New Zealand innings:

New Zealand could not get a good start with the openers departing early. Will Young tried to control the innings but went soon after crossing 40 runs.

Henry Nicholls on the other end stood up for the challenges and completed his 150 runs. Nicholls trying to advance to his double century but was caught on the way off Rostan Chase in 174 runs.

At the end of the first innings pacer, Neil Wagner amassed quickfire 66 from 42 to end the innings. New Zealand finished the first innings on 460 runs in a loss of 10 wickets.

West Indies:

In retaliation, West Indies was wrapped for only 131 runs on the third day. Blackwood came out as a lone warrior scoring 69 from 92 balls.

Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson picked five-for each to dismiss the visitors.

New Zealand stand-in skipper Tom Latham enforced a Follow-on after a bit of hesitation.

West Indies was wrapped up by hosts on the fourth day of the second test. John Campbell, Jason Holder, and Joshua De Silva emerged as the only players to breach 50 runs mark in the follow on.

New Zealand bagged the series with a clean 2-0 and advanced to equal Australia on ICC Test Championship points. They sit at number three in the points table with the recent series win.

New Zealand Squad:

Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell, Will Young, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel

West Indies Squad:

Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Darren Bravo, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Jason Holder (c), Joshua Da Silva (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Keemo Paul, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shimron Hetmyer.

ALSO READ: Australia vs India Test Series: Ashish Nehra picks his first choice openers for the Test
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2021 Dates Revealed, SMAT 2021 Fixtures and Dates