T20 World Cup 2024

The road to ICC T20 World Cup 2024, which will be played in USA and Caribbean in June 2024, has begun for many teams. For Australia, it’ll kick start with the three-match T20I series against South Africa, slated to take place from 30th August to 3rd September. 

Since Aaron Finch retired, Australia have been without a captain in the shortest format of the game. There were many reports that Mitchell Marsh will be handed the captaincy and those reports have emerged to be true as the all-rounder has been named captain for the T20Is against South Africa, which indicates that he might be there as a leader for the World Cup. 

Australia has named a young team for the three-match T20I series against South Africa, giving opportunities to quite a few BBL stars. Spencer Johnson along with Aaron Hardie and Matt Short have revised their maiden call-up for the national team whereas there are familiar names in the team as well. 

Apart from Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head and Tim David are the all-rounders whereas Steve Smith along with wicketkeeper Jos Inglis have also made the cut into the team with Cricket Australia opting to rest David Warner and Alex Carey. 

Read Also: ICC World Cup 2023: Mitchell Marsh snubs India as he picks two finalist for the World Cup 2023

Sean Abott, Jason Behrendroff and Nathan Ellis will be handling the pace bowling depart as Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood won’t be a feature in the series. Also as per the various reports, it is learned that Steve Smith will be opening the innings in the T20I series and Australia are keen to have him at the top alongside David Warner in the T20 World Cup 2024. 

Australia Squad for the T20I series against South Africa 

Australia's Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, Leaves out Marnus Labuschagne
Image Source: Twitter

Here’s Australia Squad for the T20I series against South Africa: 

Mitchell Marsh (captain), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis.