Saturday, July 20, 2024

List Of Winners and Runner-ups Of T20 World Cup 2007 to 2024 | Check out the Full Lists of World Cup Winning Teams


ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in the T20 Format is hosted by ICC every two years and this time in 2024, West Indies and USA got the hosting opportunity while INDIA lifted the T20 WORLD CUP 2024. Here, in this post, we will walk you through the lists of winners and runner-ups of the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2024.

In the year 2001, Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager of the ECB, proposed a 20-over per innings game to county chairmen and he got 11-7 votes in favor of the proposal. This is how the T20 Format got its international recognition and proved to be the savior of the limited-over cricket.

ICC decided to take the format and script an iconic tournament with notable teams of different nations and offered a similar tournament like the ODI World Cup- the T20 World Cup and the first edition was organized in year 2007.

Initially, it was determined that the ICC World Twenty20 would be held biennially, except when coinciding with a scheduled Cricket World Cup. In such cases, the ICC World Twenty20 would occur the preceding year. The inaugural tournament took place in 2007, followed by the second in 2009. The third edition was held in 2010, as the ODI World Cup was slated for 2011.

Let’s get into lists of winners and runner-ups of the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2024:

ICC T20 World Cup Winners and Runner-ups

ICC T20 World Cup 2007

ICC T20 World cup

It was the first ICC T20 World Cup and playing such a big tournament for the very first time, all teams were under extreme pressure. The top 12 teams of the cricket-playing nations were selected and the event was organized in South Africa.

India and Pakistan were the finalists of the inaugural T20 event and India defeated Pakistan in the final. India posted the target of 158 runs and in the leadership of MS Dhoni, they restricted Pakistan to 152 and won the game and the first title by 5 runs.

ICC T20 World Cup 2009

The second edition was hosted by England and again, 12 teams played the tournament. The defending champions this time were eliminated and were out of the semifinals.

Pakistan again managed to reach the finals and this time, they got Sri Lanka on the opposite corner. The Men in Green bowled first to restricted Lanka under 138 runs, chased down the target with 8 wickets in hand, and won the title for the first time.

ICC T20 World Cup 2010

West Indies were coming out as the beasts in the shortest form of cricket and they got the hosting opportunity in the 2010 edition. Unfortunately for them, they could not qualify for the semifinals but Pakistan were in the semifinals for the third straight time.

England and Australia were the two finalists and England defeated Australia by 7 wickets at the Kensington Oval, Barbados to grab the first ICC T20 Title.

ICC T20 World Cup 2012

It was the second time in consecutive years that Sri Lanka was hosting (or co-hosting) an ICC World Cup and reached the finals but still ended in the losing corner.

Sri Lanka and West Indies were the two finalists of the 12-team tournament and West Indies lifted their first title by defeating the hosts by 36 runs.

ICC T20 World Cup 2014

Bangladesh hosted the 2014 ICC T20 Tournament and unfortunately couldn’t win a single match in the main group stage. The teams were expanded to 16 teams in the tournament. India played another World Cup final this time and the opponents were Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka turned the table this time and ended the trophy drought on their end. They defeated India in the final by 6 wickets.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016

The World Cup 2016 is and will be remembered for the carnage by Carlos Brathwaite, who clubbed 6,6,6,6 in the last over to seal the deal for West Indies!

India hosted the 2016 tournament and played the semifinals too but couldn’t stop West Indies in the semifinal. England and West Indies were the two finalists.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022: Schedule, Groups, Teams, Squads, Venue, Live Streaming, Time All You Need to Know
Image Source: Sky Sports

In May 2016, the ICC proposed the idea of holding a tournament in 2018, with South Africa as the potential host. However, the ICC subsequently abandoned this plan due to the top member nations’ bilateral commitments in 2018.

The tournament was initially scheduled for 2020 but was postponed to 2021 due to the global pandemic. Although India was originally designated as the host, the tournament was ultimately relocated to the UAE and Oman.

Australia were the champions of the 2021 tournament defeating New Zealand in the finals.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022

The 2022 ICC T20 Event was hosted by Australia where we saw Kohli’s heroics against Pakistan but unfortunately, India couldn’t make it to the finals as they were defeated by England in the semifinals by 10 wickets.

Pakistan and England were the finalists and England won the game by 5 wickets and registered the second title to their names.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Team India celebrates the win in the T20 World Cup 2024.
Team India celebrates the win in the T20 WC 2024.

USA and West Indies were the hosts of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 and it was the first time when the USA was selected as the host for the ICC World Cup tournament. It was a 20-team tournament for the first time in the history of the ICC T20 World event.

India and South Africa were the two finalists of the tournament and INDIA won the title for the second time and this time under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

List of Winner and Runner-up of ICC T20 World Cup

2009PakistanSri Lanka
2012West IndiesSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndia
2016West IndiesEngland
2021AustraliaNew Zealand
2024IndiaSouth Africa

READ: No Rohit Sharma as captain; Virat Kohli Suryakumar Yadav ignore as Cricket Australia names team of T20 World Cup 2024


Bookmarked post
Rahul Chaube
Rahul Chaube
Rahul, news editor and author at ICC Cricket Schedule, offers timely updates and engaging analysis, enriching the platform's coverage for cricket enthusiasts.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS