Vivo IPL 2021: Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Chris Woakes pulled out of the IPL 2021

Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Chris Woakes pulled out of the IPL 2021.

Vivo IPL 2021: Three more English cricketers have pulled out of the rescheduled Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 after the wrap of India vs England test series adding woes to the franchisees who have already faced severe losses. The tournament is scheduled to begin in a weeks time in the UAE with the opener being played between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings on September 19.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow, Punjab Kings Dawid Malan and Delhi Capitals Chris Woakes have recently pulled their names back citing some personal reasons.

The three aforementioned cricketers will join the likes of all-rounder Ben Stokes, pacer Jofra Archer and wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler who had earlier confirmed their unavailability for the cash-rich Indian Premier League.

The news came soon in the wake of India showing its reluctance to play the final test match of the five matches series against England. The fifth test match, scheduled to begin on 10th September at Old Trafford Manchester, was abruptly cancelled after the Indian camp was hit by the covid infection. 

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav and Bumrah reach UAE

The covid-19 outbreak in the Indian camp forced the Indian think tanks to pull out of the match. As many as five members of the Indian support staff tested covid positive which includes a head coach, bowling coach, two physios and a fielding coach.

The Sun’s reports revealed that the English players and dressing room are of the view that the visiting players were responsible for the covid outbreak. A few cricketers from the host side stated that a couple of Indian players were seen roaming around in the streets of Manchester when they were supposed to get locked up in their rooms or inside the team hotel.

Following the withdrawal of Dawid Malan, Punjab Kings were quick enough to react to the news, The franchise roped in South African Adain Markram for the remainder of the season as Malan’s replacement. The remaining two franchises are yet to announce their replacements.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup Squads of participating teams, India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand