Home Indian Premier League IPL 2023 IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venues, Auction, Team, Captains All you...

IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venues, Auction, Team, Captains All you need to know

IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venues, Auction, Team, Captains All you need to know: The fifteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) came to end a few nights ago with debutant franchise, Gujarat Titans (GT) emerging as the winners. Gujarat defeated Rajasthan in the summit clash by seven wickets and registered their name in history books.

IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venues, Auction, Team, Captains All you need to know
Image: IPL

The IPL 2022 was one of the most interesting seasons in IPL history. Two new teams, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants were added to fuel more competition to the tournament.

While the two new sides maintained their inflated performances throughout the tournament, fan favourites Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians recorded their lowest points. Notably, IPL 2022 became the first season when none of the Chennai Super Kings or Mumbai Indians managed to qualify for the playoffs.

Meanwhile, this IPL edition also saw a new title winner in Gujarat Titans, breaking the five-year long domination of MI and CSK.

Nevertheless, all the teams would now shift their focus to the next edition of the league which will be IPL 2023. This article will aim to provide you with all the basic information regarding the IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venues, Auction, Team, Captains etc.

IPL 2023 Start Date:

Though the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) hasn’t released any official information as of now, still it would be safe to say that the IPL 2023 will be played in its scheduled window only. The time period of over two months will be reserved from April to May for the lucrative Indian Premier League.

IPL 2023 Host Country:

Narendra Modi Stadium IPL 2022 Final

Due to the covid restrictions, BCCI had to move IPL out of India in 2020 and 2021, however, the tournament was back to its motherland in 2022. After two years of long wait, IPL returned back to the Indian stadiums with the attendance of fans.

It won’t be wrong to say that IPL feels homely only when it’s held in India with the support of the Indian crowd. Crazy scenes were witnessed throughout the IPL 2022 as fans joined in large numbers to support their favourite teams.

Moreover, IPL moves out of India only when there is an emergency. In 2009 and 2014 the BCCI decided to shift the tournament to South Africa and UAE respectively as the dates clashed with general elections in the country. 

This brings us to the conclusion that until and unless there is some emergency, the IPL 2023 will be held in India only.

IPL 2023 Venues:

As the IPL 2023 will be held in India, a specified number of venues will be used to stage the matches. It’s expected that this time home and away matches will be held so that each team gets to play in front of their home crowd.

Here is the list of teams and their home ground which will be used in the IPL 2022:

Team NameHome Ground
Chennai Super KingsChepauk Stadium, Chennai
Mumbai IndiansWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Royal Challengers BangaloreM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangaluru
Rajasthan RoyalsSawai Man Singh Stadium, Rajasthan
Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens, Kolkata
Punjab KingsInderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Sunrisers HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, HYD
Delhi CapitalsArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Gujarat TitansNarendra Modi Stadium, Gujarat
Lucknow Super GiantsEkana Stadium, Lucknow

ALSO READ: IPL 2023 Retained & Released Players List – RR, CSK, MI, GT, RCB, KKR, SRH, DC, LSG, PBKS

IPL 2023 Auction Details:

Unlike IPL 2022, the BCCI will conduct a mini-auction for IPL 2023. Franchises will release a few players from their 2022 squad and then just like a normal auction process the players will be picked from the auction table by the teams according to the need of a franchise.

Importantly, there will be no upper cap on the player retention. If a franchise wants, they can retain all of their previous squad, and if they want they can release as many players they want.

IPL 2023 Teams and Captains:

10-teams participated in the recently concluded Tata IPL 2022. The next edition of the tournament will also have 10 teams competing to get the coveted IPL glory.

Down below is the list of all teams and their respective captains – 

Team NameCaptain (as in IPL 2022)
Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
Royal Challengers BangaloreFaf du Plessis
Punjab KingsMayank Agarwal
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
Delhi CapitalsRishabh Pant
Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas Iyer
Sunrisers HyderabadKane Williamson
Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul

ALSO READ: 4 Young Indian Cricketers who performed brilliantly in the Tata IPL 2022